Thursday, 20 July 2017

ARC REVIEW : Smitty's Sheriff (Hope #3) by Cardeno C.

35447311 


Todd is too flakey. Richard is too stubborn. Together, they're perfect. A May-December couple get a second chance at love.

Retired soldier Richard Davis wants a stable life in a quiet town with a forever man. Becoming the sheriff of Hope, Arizona, accomplishes two of his three goals, but instead of finding a serious partner, he falls for too-young-to-be-committed and too-flakey-to-be-serious Todd Smitty. Richard won’t find the right man if he’s obsessed with the wrong one, so he walks away from Todd.

It’s lust at first sight when Todd meets his sister’s army friend. He sets his sights on the worldly, strong, stable older man, and the more time he spends with Richard, the harder he falls. But after three years together, Richard cuts off all contact with no explanation.

When a mutual obligation requires Todd to move into Richard’s house, he’s thrilled at the opportunity to earn a second chance. Ignoring Todd from across town was hard enough. Can Richard resist temptation under his own roof?
Smitty's Sheriff (Hope, #3)Smitty's Sheriff by Cardeno C.
My rating: 2 of 5 stars








It pained me to give only two starts for CC's book.
But what can I say? From the first time I read about Rich, I didn't like him. He's too judgmental for my taste and Todd on the other hand, a clueless, doormat and a cheater (three years as a booty call for Rich and he's sleeping with others too, not that i can blame him. Richard made him believe that it was just sex.).
I have no idea why did Todd can put up with Rich for so long. No communications for three years is a disaster, don't you think?
I mean, come on...when you (sex) partner looked down at you and didn't make any move to make commitment, would you just stay for him for that long? Not in my world.
But, once again, Todd is a doormat, he took anything Richard's offered. Both main characters are hard to like.
This is almost a no angst short story, but this is CC's book. You should read this one.
You can always blame me for my rating.

*I read it on the plane, so probably it's the plane, not the book. :)*


View all my reviews

ARC REVIEW : A Kind of Home (A Kind of Stories #4) by Lane Hayes

34819125 

A Kind Of Story

Isaac Dalton is the guitarist for Spiral, arguably the biggest rock band in the world. The band’s meteoric rise to superstardom has its perks, but fame and fortune aren’t all they’re cracked up to be. Nonstop touring and performing exhaust him, and when an overzealous fan makes it imperative that Isaac travel with a clingy bodyguard, he is ready for a break from the madness. More so when his newly single first crush shows up on his doorstep. The man is strictly off-limits. He’s a memory from a place Isaac would rather leave behind. And he’s straight.

Fun-loving former athlete slash construction worker Adam McBride desperately needs a new beginning. And New York City is the perfect place to start over and think about how to rebuild his life. A short stint as roommates with his brother’s best friend from high school seems like a mutually beneficial arrangement. However, when friendship gives way to fierce attraction, both men find themselves in unchartered and possibly dangerous territory. Isaac has to decide if he’s willing to take the ultimate risk for a kind of love and a kind of home he never dreamed possible.
A Kind of Home (A Kind of Stories, #4) 


A Kind of Home by Lane Hayes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


This was sexy, I cannot put it down and I really liked Adam.
This book worked for me, I didn't even skimming the sex part. That one tells a lot :)
I read this one when my mood was 'right'.
So, I'm not sorry for loving Adam and Isaac. They're cheesy, and Adam loving Isaac the way Isaac never imagined before.
So it's a matter of heart and choices, whether Isaac will let Adam in, or living his life always in running from something he's actually craved.
Home.
And Adam gave it all of it, the unconditional love and a home he always dreamed of.
I know, I'm a hopeless romantic. This one is so far my favorite of this series.
Recommended.





View all my reviews

Monday, 17 July 2017

ARC Review : The Teddy Bear Club by Sean Michael

35170242 

Two lonely men. One perfect family.

Aiden Lake adopted his institutionalized sister’s two daughters, and he’s a good dad. He works nights on websites and gets in his adult time twice a week at the Roasty Bean, where he meets with other single gay parents.

Devon Smithson wants to be a good dad now that his sixteen-year-old sister asked him to babysit her newborn… three months ago. But he’s overwhelmed with the colicky baby. An invitation to the daddy-and-kid gatherings at the café is a godsend. The pot is sweetened when his friendship with Aiden develops into more—maybe even something that can last.

But the mother who kicked Dev out for being gay wants to get her claws into the baby, and she doesn’t care if she tears Dev, Aiden, and everything they’re building apart in the process.
 



 The Teddy Bear Club








The Teddy Bear Club by Sean Michael
My rating: 2 of 5 stars


I love kids, babies and the bunch of them,. I mean it.
But when you have almost 70 percent of the book talking about babies, diapers, playing and lacking of romance in my MM book, I'm not a fan.
Skimming some diaper changing and I found there's not so much of a story.
Sorry.

View all my reviews

Review : Model Investigator (Haven Investigations #3) by Lissa Kasey (

35129932 

With his lover, Kade, missing, androgynous former model turned private investigator Ollie Petroskovic is ready to kick some ass to bring him home.

Ollie and his ex, rock star Jacob Elias, need to find Kade and free him from the clutches of his manipulative family. But with Ollie suffering from chronic migraines and Jacob unable to bear loud noises, they are hardly the dynamic duo. It takes a lot of sweet talking on the part of Jacob, and patience Ollie doesn’t have, to find Kade. Only Kade’s not whole anymore. The fight for Kade’s heart and mind is far from over.

It’s Ollie’s turn to guide Kade through nightmares, self-doubt, and PTSD. Kade’s memories are scattered, fragmented with possible horrors, and he’s not quite sure what is real. Ollie will have to draw on his investigative skills to clear Kade of the terrible accusations his family has made and help Kade unlock the truth. But in doing so, he ignores his own health, which could have catastrophic consequences for everyone, especially when digging up the past could be lethal for them all.
Model Investigator (Haven Investigations, #3)









Model Investigator by Lissa Kasey
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


This is my favorite of the series.
I really loved how much Ollie and Kade loved each other. And the jealous Ollie is epic!
I can't believe the ending...this is actually what I predicted before.
I know how clingy Ollie to Kade, but Kade need a clingy Ollie.
And I can't believe that Kade can be upset to Ollie too. LOL.
And the public sex is awesome! I never thought I'll see the day Kade's blushing...
Took me a long time to finish this one, because I don't want it to end.
I missed them already.
The ending is kinda cliffhanger, but didn't make me mad.
I'm waiting impatiently to the next book!
Recommended!

View all my reviews

Monday, 10 July 2017

ARC REVIEW : Mascara & Bandages (Mary's Boys #3) by Brandon Witt




35431750 

Ariel Merman is a new drag queen who’s already finding a family at Hamburger Mary’s. After a performance as Ariel, Zachary Cooper walks home in his makeup and is assaulted by homophobes. Zachary’s worry that the attack has thrown a wrench in his good fortune is eased when he looks into the eyes of his doctor.

Dr. Teegan Chau is a little lost after divorcing his wife and coming out of the closet, but he can’t deny the pull he feels toward the young man he patches up. Luckily, Zachary takes the initiative and asks Teegan out. But attraction is the easy part of their blossoming relationship—as they deal with an ex-wife and child, being a drag queen in a heteronormative culture, Zachary’s lingering trauma from his attack, and Teegan acclimating to life as part of an out-and-proud gay couple.

The challenges seem daunting at the start of a romance. Can Zachary and Teegan make it through the rough patches and take a chance on the love that’s been missing from both their lives?
 



Mascara & Bandages (Mary's Boys, #3)








Mascara & Bandages by Brandon Witt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


I didn't read the book about Vahin (and Malcolm?), after reading Dani's review, I think I'll pass his book, sorry Vahin. But this one I approved. Actually, I liked this one better than the first book.
Zachary is adorable. no wonder Teegan drawn to him. I liked the dynamic and good chemistry the two of them. I always curious about cross-dressing main character in my MM books. Good thing is, more of the stories are good reads and enjoyable. This one is no exceptional. I liked this. A lot.
I felt sorry about what happened to Ariel/Zachary that night, but he won't meet Teegan if he's not in the Hospital, right?
I called it blessing in disguise :)
I liked all the Mary's boys who really care about Zachary and become family he needed. Add Teegan in the picture, and it was perfect.
This is enjoyable, and I liked it that the angst was in the beginning, almost end angst is really not my thang :)
Read this book, you'll enjoy it.
Recommended!

View all my reviews

ARC REVIEW : Runner by Parker Williams

35455719 

 Matt Bowers’s life ended at sixteen, when a vicious betrayal by someone who he should have been able to trust left him a shell of himself, fighting OCD and PTSD, living in constant fear and always running. When he buys a remote tract of land, he thinks he’s found the perfect place to hide from the world and attempt to establish some peace. For ten years he believes he’s found a measure of comfort, until the day a stranger begins to run on Matt’s road.

He returns every day, an unwelcome intrusion into Matt’s carefully structured life. Matt appeals to the local sheriff, who cannot help him since the jogger is doing nothing wrong. Gradually, after tentatively breaking the ice, Matt begins to accept the man’s presence—

But when the runner doesn’t show up one day, it throws Matt’s world into chaos and he must make the hardest decision of his life.
RunnerRunner by Parker Williams
My rating: 4 of 5 stars





I really liked this story. I can see why Matt acted like that, with the PTSD and all. Overreacted?
Yes. But in a mind of 16 years old boy who trusted his teacher and attacked by him? Even there's no rape, just one attempted..still..memories followed.
The problem is, Matt rejected the therapy and getting deeper and deeper into his own lonely world.
Until he found Charlie. Charlie is perfect in every way possible. He's definitely a perfect man for Matt.
But...does he really 'that perfect'?
I liked the slow burn relationship between Charlie and Matt, and how patient Charlie with him. And don't forget about the loving brother Trey. He's a picture of a perfect brother.
Looks like everything's perfect...but it's actually not.
This one is almost no angst story, mostly about how's Matt struggled with his inner demon and fighting it if he wants to be with Charlie.
Charlie on the other hand, is a determined man. This is the kind of man I need in my life. Patient and determined. I really liked Charlie, Matt is a lucky guy :)
Overall, this one is a 'fun' read (for me), not too thrilled with the epic ending...but what can I say, Charlie is an epic lover :)
Read this book.

View all my reviews

Tuesday, 20 June 2017

ARC REVIEW : The Shape of You by Felice Stevens


Image may contain: 2 people, text 


Image may contain: 2 people, text



 Too big. Too fat.
All his life Eric Sontag has judged himself on his size, believing love and friendship aren't in the cards for someone like him. Tired of being alone and scared of his doctor’s warnings, he enrolls in a nutrition support group, determined to change his life. When a beautiful thin man sits next to him, he can’t believe they have anything in common, but conversation between the two soon proves first impressions aren’t always what they seem.

Drifter. Loner.
Corey DeSantis has always been the scrawny waif; he’s tired of struggling with his art and with life. Scarred by the disappearance and death of his drug-addicted mother, he doesn’t wish for love, believing it will bring him nothing but pain in the end. Now his only hunger in life is his desire to paint…until a health scare and his mentor force him to attend a nutrition class where he meets a man who piques his interest. One drunken kiss later, Eric is all Corey can think about.
The same, yet different.

An unlikely friendship is born with both men wanting more but afraid to listen to their well-guarded hearts. When Corey receives shocking news leaving him angry and helpless, it’s Eric he leans on, to help see him through, while a surprising career opportunity finds Eric leaning on Corey for advice. One night of explosive passion leads to a second and soon neither man can imagine a life without the other. Life is shaped by the challenges accepted and roads not taken but as Corey and Eric walk the path together, they’ll discover the most beautiful destination of all. Love.

REVIEW :

The Shape of YouThe Shape of You by Felice Stevens
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


“Eric might look at him and see beauty, but Corey knew the ugliness he carried onside”


Gorgeous cover.
Gorgeous story.
Now I know why Hope Vincent bragging about loving Corey the most.
But Eric is 'me'. I can relate to his issues. It’s not easy struggling all your life with that kind of issue. Sometimes, it cost people a depression. And depression is never pretty.

“I was with you. Because I wanted to be.”
“But why? I’m plain and fat, and you’re so_”
“Cold, I’m always cold. And being with you makes me feel safe and happy. And warm.”


Corey on the other side, I think he needed Eric more that he can explain.
Both were lonely, I can feel the loneliness of Eric and Corey. Eric with his lacking of self confident and his eating habit, and Corey with the same issue but in an opposite way.

Eric and Corey were made for each other, to complete each other, to help each other with their issues, it’s always easier when you ‘re not going to do it alone.
I loved the dynamic between Corey and Eric, how they’re become their own psychiatrist to each other.
Well, like Corey said, who need a psychiatrist when you have Eric?

Felice wrote a fast pace but with deep meaning about our daily struggle. This is our every day life put in a romance book.
Another favorite and rereading material.



Recommended!

* I voluntarily read the ARC for Lelyana's Book Blog.

View all my reviews

Sunday, 18 June 2017

ARC REVIEW : Manny Get Your Guy (The Mannies #2) by Amy Lane

35144228 

Starting over and falling in love.

Tino Robbins’s sister, Nica, and her husband, Jacob, are expecting their fifth child. Fortunately, Nica’s best friend, Taylor Cochran, is back in town, released from PT and in need of a job.

After years in the service and recovering from grave injury, Taylor has grown a lot from the callow troublemaker he’d been in high school. Now he’s hoping for a fresh start with Nica and her family.

Jacob’s cousin Brandon lives above the garage and thinks “Taylor the manny” is a bad idea. Taylor might be great at protecting civilians from a zombie apocalypse, but is he any good with kids?

Turns out, Taylor’s a natural. As he tries to fit in, using common sense and dry wit, Brandon realizes that Taylor doesn’t just love their family—he’s desperate to be part of it. And just like that, Brandon wants Taylor to be part of his future.
 



 Manny Get Your Guy (The Mannies, #2)Manny Get Your Guy by Amy Lane
My rating: 4 of 5 stars







Amy Lane and her life lessons...*sigh*

I was a little bit overwhelmed by 'the kids' Nica and Jacob have. I can't imagine having five kids and counting...OMG LOL!
They need an education of 'family planning' stat!
This book cannot read as a stand alone, because, there's so many things and people from book one and I think this is like a sequel, sequel. So, read about Tino and Channing the you can read this one.
When Tino in the previous book taking care of one child, imagine how Taylor manage taking care of five.
I liked the bonding Taylor made with Jacob, Nica, and Brandon's family. I think he need to be needed, you know, considering how shitty his family was.
And as for Brandon, Taylor is all he need to call home.
I cannot understand why family treated their kids like that. When all they need is love and acceptance.
I think this one talked a lot about acceptance, love, and family. Mostly a life lesson a fun way, Amy's style.
Recommended.


View all my reviews

Release Blitz with review : Strong Enough by Melanie Harlow, David Romanov

SBPRBanner-StrongEnough-RB USE

Strong Enough, an all-new sexy standalone from USA Today Bestselling author Melanie Harlow and David Romanov is LIVE!

MHDRStrongEnoughBookCover5x8_BW_350  

Strong Enough

by Melanie Harlow & David Romanov

Genre: Contemporary MM Romance

Publication Date: June 19, 2017

 
I wasn’t looking for Derek Wolfe.

I wasn’t looking for anybody. All I wanted was to start a new life in America. But when I found myself stranded here with no place to go, he came to my rescue, offering me a place to stay.
He’s smart, successful, and sexy as hell—I can barely sleep knowing he’s right down the hall. And when the chemistry between us explodes one night with fierce, fiery passion, it’s hard to deny there’s something real between us.
But he does.
He says he was drunk. He says it was a one-time thing. He says he’s not into guys and what we did meant nothing.
He’s lying. Because it happened again, and again, and again. And it’s better every time.
I know we could be good together, and I want the chance to try, but I’m done hiding. If he’s not strong enough to admit the truth, I’ll have to be strong enough to walk away.
SBPR-MHDR-SE-AvailableNow

Read  Today!

iBooks: Strong Enough
Add to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/eU1rwv
SBPR-MHDR-SE-teaser3  

 

REVIEW


I was gambling when I received the ARC of this book. I never read any book from both author. This is a new to me author(s) and I didn't expect something great. So, I went blind. And I'm glad that this one worked for me. I liked this book a lot.

I liked the chemistry between Derek and Maxim since very beginning. I admired Derek for his kindness. A little weird to be honest, for him and his sister accepting some stranger and believed what Maxim said about what was going through.
But again, Derek's sister is about seeing people with their 'aura', and Maxim seemed having a really good aura, so...

The writing style is a one plus point, written really good and with the fast pace, hard for me to put it down.
This is a feel good low angst story about two very different men from a very different place in this world, the opposite actually. But somehow, it worked for both Derek and Maxim.
I really liked the epilogue, it was definitely a winner.
Recommended.

 

 

About Melanie:

Melanie Harlow writes sexy, emotional romance about strong, stubborn characters who can’t help falling in love. She’s addicted to bacon, gin martinis, and summer reading on the screened-in porch. If she’s not buried in a book or binging on Netflix, you might find her running, putting a bun in someone’s hair, or driving to and from the dance studio. She lives outside Detroit with her husband and two daughters. Melanie is the USA Today bestselling author of the HAPPY CRAZY LOVE series, the FRENCHED series, MAN CANDY, AFTER WE FALL, IF YOU WERE MINE, and the sexy historical SPEAK EASY duet, set in the 1920s.  

Connect with Melanie:

Twitter: @MelanieHarlow2
Sign up for Melanie’s Newsletter: http://www.melanieharlow.com/subscribe/
 

About David:

For David Romanov, STRONG ENOUGH is to a great extent autobiographical. Born in Russia and raised in Europe, he landed in the United States at the age of 24, where he learned a lot about cultural differences between East and West. David firmly believes in ‘The One’ and learning through love. When he isn’t traveling or educating Melanie in Russian culture, he enjoys books and the company of his husband and dog in Los Angeles.  

Connect with David:

Saturday, 10 June 2017

ARC REVIEW : Something's Brewing at Joe's by S.J.D. Peterson

34818666 

The promise of a dream job lures Murphy to Tampa, but he arrives to the rude awakening that the offer is on hold. Now he’s got two choices: slink back to Michigan with his tail between his legs or stay and look for work. Things perk up when he goes into a coffee shop and learns the owner is looking for someone to renovate the apartment above it. He happily takes the job, only later realizing he’s met Joe Sterling, Kaffeinate’s proprietor, before… when they hooked up at a club Murphy’s first night in Tampa.

Murphy and Joe are both proud, passionate, and outspoken. Neither is looking for a relationship, though they can’t deny they go together as well as coffee and doughnuts, in spite of their tempers. But that’s before Joe learns Murphy will be working for the corporation he believes is harming local businesses and the environment—and if Murphy will be supporting it, Joe will want nothing to do with him, dooming any possibility of an unexpected happy ending.
Something's Brewing at Joe'sSomething's Brewing at Joe's by S.J.D. Peterson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars


I was interested to the cover and blurb. I read this author's book before and liked it.
Started really good and I enjoyed fifty percent mark of this book, until there was too much sex, and sex, and sex. I'm finally exhausted. Maybe I'm too old for this kind of story, you can blame me then.
Started with a fling, and the fling become a cling and they're finally cannot be separated in seconds.
Both having short temper and non stop sex drive, Joe and Murphy were made for each other.
This was actually can be more enjoyable if only they didn't have sex every time they met. Less talk, more sex.
That's the only reason they're arguing, a miscommunication can be the cause of couple problem.
added the short temper, boom!
Good thing is, you know, the sex is epic, so I don't think they can be away from each other for long. Like, one day :)
Overall, if you like a light read, a very low angst, loads of sex, this your book.
Read it on weekend getaway with your partner, this one is a good booster. Just saying.

*ARC provided by Dreamspinner Press for an honest and unbiased review.*

View all my reviews

Thursday, 8 June 2017

Cover Reveal STRONG ENOUGH by Melanie Harlow & David Romanov

SBPRBanner-StrongEnough-CR.jpg

Strong Enough, an all-new sexy standalone from USA Today Bestselling author Melanie Harlow and David Romanov is coming June 19th!

MHDRStrongEnoughBookCover5x8_BW_350

Strong Enough

by Melanie Harlow & David Romanov

Genre: Contemporary MM Romance

Publication Date: June 19, 2017

Cover Designer: Letitia Hasser, RBA Designs

Photographer: Vitaly Dorokhov

 
I wasn’t looking for Derek Wolfe.
I wasn’t looking for anybody. All I wanted was to start a new life in America. But when I found myself stranded here with no place to go, he came to my rescue, offering me a place to stay.
He’s smart, successful, and sexy as hell—I can barely sleep knowing he’s right down the hall. And when the chemistry between us explodes one night with fierce, fiery passion, it’s hard to deny there’s something real between us.
But he does.
He says he was drunk. He says it was a one-time thing. He says he’s not into guys and what we did meant nothing.
He’s lying. Because it happened again, and again, and again. And it’s better every time.
I know we could be good together, and I want the chance to try, but I’m done hiding. If he’s not strong enough to admit the truth, I’ll have to be strong enough to walk away.
 

Check Out the First THREE Chapters of Strong Enough HERE:

SBPR-MHDR-SE-teaser1  

Preorder Now:

iBooks: Strong Enough
Add to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/eU1rwv
 

About Melanie:

Melanie Harlow writes sexy, emotional romance about strong, stubborn characters who can’t help falling in love. She’s addicted to bacon, gin martinis, and summer reading on the screened-in porch. If she’s not buried in a book or binging on Netflix, you might find her running, putting a bun in someone’s hair, or driving to and from the dance studio. She lives outside Detroit with her husband and two daughters.   Melanie is the USA Today bestselling author of the HAPPY CRAZY LOVE series, the FRENCHED series, MAN CANDY, AFTER WE FALL, IF YOU WERE MINE, and the sexy historical SPEAK EASY duet, set in the 1920s.  

Connect with Melanie:

Twitter: @MelanieHarlow2
Sign up for Melanie’s Newsletter: http://www.melanieharlow.com/subscribe/
 

About David:

For David Romanov, STRONG ENOUGH is to a great extent autobiographical. Born in Russia and raised in Europe, he landed in the United States at the age of 24, where he learned a lot about cultural differences between East and West. David firmly believes in ‘The One’ and learning through love. When he isn’t traveling or educating Melanie in Russian culture, he enjoys books and the company of his husband and dog in Los Angeles.  

Connect with David:

       

ARC REVIEW : Summer Heat by Jay Northcote



35041274 

A summer fling is an ideal cure for a broken heart. But when it’s with your best friend, things get complicated.

When Adam is dumped by his boyfriend, a week away at a beach resort seems like a great opportunity to get over his ex. Sun, sea, and no-strings sex will be just the boost he needs to move on with his life.

Adam’s best friend, Finn, agrees to accompany him at short notice. Finn’s had a crush on Adam for years, but is determined to put his feelings aside and be the perfect wingman in Adam’s time of crisis.

A spontaneous threesome with another guy forces Adam and Finn to confront their attraction to each other. Having a holiday fling together wasn’t part of the plan, and as their trip heats up, they soon realise that one night of fun won’t be enough for either of them.

The passion might be scorching, but their hearts and friendship are on the line. If their romance is going to survive the flight home, they have to be honest about what they want.

Length: 47,000 approx
Standalone
Buy Link 


REVIEW 


Summer HeatSummer Heat by Jay Northcote
My rating: 4 of 5 stars  🌟🌟🌟🌟


When Jay's doing steamy, he's not doing half.
The summer is definitely hot! Well, it's a hot summer anyway...
This is a feel good, best friends to lover, loads of sex, and more sex, and more sex... Got a clue? (grins)
A real fun weekend getaway book to read.
No need complication in relationship, a bit awkward for sure, but no angst. They're just 'be'.
This is Jay's hottest book so far, I don't mind at all.
Enjoyable fun and adorable. What's not to love?



View all my reviews

Sunday, 4 June 2017

Lelyana's Book Blog: ARC review : Ride Along (States of Love) by Megha...

Lelyana's Book Blog: ARC review : Ride Along (States of Love) by Megha...:   Drew Nolan is a loud-and-proud mystery writer with a brutal case of writer’s block. He needs practical experience with the Baltimore ...

ARC review : Ride Along (States of Love) by Meghan Maslow

35176203 

Drew Nolan is a loud-and-proud mystery writer with a brutal case of writer’s block. He needs practical experience with the Baltimore police beat to get his latest manuscript to his publisher on time. When he wins a ride-along at a writer’s conference, he thinks he’s hit the jackpot… until he meets his partner.

Closeted cop Josh de Oliveira lost his family, his partner, and the respect of his unit—all for doing the right thing. Recently busted back down to patrol, he’s relieved to get a cushy assignment at the Author’s Police Institute where he’ll take one lucky writer on a ride-along. Unfortunately, his author looks like he belongs in the backseat of Josh’s squad car—long, ginger dreadlocks, piercings, and an “I would bottom you so hard” T-shirt. But there’s something about Drew Josh is having a hard time resisting.

It’s going to be a long night and one hell of a ride as opposites attract and realize they share a lot in common beneath the surface. As animosity becomes desire, they realize they can help each other out—in more ways than one.



States of Love: Stories of romance that span every corner of the United States.

REVIEW


Ride Along (States of Love)Ride Along by Meghan Maslow
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

🌟🌟🌟🌟

 
I was looking for a light and fun read when I open this book, and I had what I wanted.
This is a lust/love at first sight, I didn't mind at all. Because Drew and Josh are both enjoyable.
With a little baggage from the past, fast pace, loving family (Drew's), nosy friend and some jerk who's threatened Josh for what he did in the past, this one was quite a catch for me.
I liked Laura, Drew's new BFF. If not for her, probably these guys will never made it to the end. Just saying. So yeah, Laura is kinda important.
I liked the sexual tension between Josh and Drew, not that they held it for long for that one.
This is an instant lust, right? There's no couple problem between them, but they had to solved all their baggage with work, friends, and family before they're really can say they're together.
I liked Ian, Drew's brother. I think he's got crush on Josh a little bit. I hope he's gay too, he's an amazing guy. I want his own story in the future (hints).
I really enjoyed this book. Recommended!

*ARC provided by Dreamspinner Press for Lelyana's Book Blog to review.*

View all my reviews

Friday, 2 June 2017

ARC REVIEW : It Could Happen by Mia Kerick

35010893 

Three misfits, mismatched in every way—Henry Perkins, Brody Decker, and Danny Denisco—have been friends throughout high school. Now in their senior year, the boys realize their relationship is changing, that they’re falling in love. But they face opposition at every turn—from outside and from within themselves. Moving to the next level will take all the courage, understanding, and commitment they can muster. But it could happen.

Henry is a star athlete and the son of religious parents who have little concern for the future he wants. Brody is a quirky dreamer and adrenaline junkie, and Danny is an emo artist and the target of bullies. Despite their differences they’ve always had each other’s backs, and with each of them facing a new and unique set of challenges, that support is more important than ever. Is it worth risking the friendship they all depend on for the physical and romantic relationship they all desire?

In this unconventional new adult romance, three gay teens brave societal backlash—as well as the chance that they might lose their treasured friendship—to embark on a committed polyamorous relationship.
It Could Happen







It Could Happen by Mia Kerick
My rating: 3 of 5 stars


I didn't read a lot of Mia's book, and not too familiar with the writing style.
Reading this story I had a little vibes of David Levithan and Eli Easton in it.
But less more interesting, sorry.
It was a cute story though. Three friends, depends to each other facing bullying from someone and some friends about their 'gayness', a coming out story and how they're found themselves and what they wanted in life.
It can be great if the three boys can have more chemistry except for 'protecting each other and will always be together and us three against the world'.
They're teenagers in eighteenth but sounds like fifteen or something. Not that it's bad or anything.
But IMO, they need more hormones. Oh, you can blame my reading preferences though.
All in all, if you're looking for sweet 'friendship' story with a little 'bonding' between three boys in a threesomes relationship, this could be your better choice. Give this book a try. I hope you'll like it.


ARC provided by Dreamspinner press for an honest and fair review.

View all my reviews

Saturday, 20 May 2017

ARC REVIEW : Return of the Chauffeur's Son by Tara Lain

34599179 

Luca McGrath may be returning to Napa Valley, California as a promising chef with dreams of starting his own restaurant and winery, but his heart still lives with bad-boy billionaire’s son, James Armstrong. Luca spent his childhood playing games with the golden boy of California society, so blinded by James he barely noticed the dark, quiet lure of his conservative older brother, Dylan Armstrong.

But now, Luca’s home and his own powers of attraction are enough to make James question his dedicated heterosexuality and his promised marriage to a wealthy and powerful businesswoman. The obvious attraction between Luca and James spurs Dylan into action—but he’s fighting a huge secret. While Luca dreamed of James, Dylan dreamed of Luca. When Luca gets caught in the struggle between the brothers and gets accused of culinary espionage he’s ready to chuck the fairy tale—unable to even imagine Dylan’s power to make his dreams come true.
Return of the Chauffeur's SonReturn of the Chauffeur's Son by Tara Lain
My rating: 3 of 5 stars


As much as I want to love this book, there was something's missing, and some thing that was not supposed to be there in the first place. Blame my reading and taste references. Don't blame the book.
I enjoyed 3/4 of the story, the premise is great but I can't find myself too attached to Luca and Dylan.
Poor Dylan. Sigh. I really liked the guy. Dylan is a great guy, but he kept so much inside, and I hate what he didn't show and tell Luca.
While Dylan is busy protecting and doing every 'service' for Luca's sake, Luca is still 'busy' for his dream for James.
And what's this James's sudden attraction to Luca? Because he's so gorgeous, or just curious?
The whole love triangle irked me, because Dylan need to be more 'out' and 'brave' about what he feel about Luca.
I'm not sure about Luca's feeling. But I have a high hope that Dylan will finally make him feel that.
The ending was quite good, and I want to believe that Dylan and Luca will find their HEA in the future.
The HFN is enough for now.



*ARC provided by Dreamspinner Press to review.*

View all my reviews

REVIEW : Enemies like You (Enemies with Benefits #1) by Joanna Chambers&Annika Martin

ENEMIES_RELEASEBOOST

Enemies Like You by Annika Martin & Joanna Chambers is NOW LIVE! Covers by http://rbadesigns.com

AMJCEnemiesLikeYouCover6x9_MEDIUM


They're dangerous men. Absolute enemies. And totally hot for each other. Will has never met anyone like Kit. He’s arrogant. Gorgeous. Lethal. The most expensive bodyguard money can buy. And Will can’t seem to resist him. A simple command in Kit's cut-glass accent makes Will want things he’s never wanted, do things he’s never done. Their red-hot chemistry is off the charts. Just one problem: Will has vowed to kill the billionaire that Kit is hell-bent on protecting. And Kit has secrets, too—his own reasons for sacrificing his soul, piece by painful piece, to keep one of the worst men on earth alive. This is a stand-alone contemporary M/M romance. 



ENEMIES_TEASER1 ENEMIES_TEASER3

DOWNLOAD ENEMIES WITH BENEFITS FOR FREE!

AMJCEnemieswithBenefitsCover6x9_MEDIUM 



They're dangerous men. Absolute enemies. And totally hot for each other. Two years ago, the men in Will’s unit were killed in an ambush because they were betrayed. Now he has a chance to go after the corrupt billionaire who sold them out. One problem: the billionaire’s bodyguard. Nobody knows what he looks like; they only know him by the trail of bodies he leaves behind. Will their passion destroy them both? Kit’s a hardened assassin who’ll do what it takes to protect his boss. But when Will moves on the billionaire at an elite party, things with Will and Kit take an unexpected—sexy—twist.
Now Kit has to convince Will to walk away--from his quest for justice, and from the red-hot passion that keeps resurfacing at the most inopportune times.


BENEFITS_1


REVIEW

This is not my Joanna Chambers first book but I'm not familiar with Annika Martin's writing style.
Adjusting is not easy.But since I was loving the Prologue because it was sexy and I loved Kit so much, adjusting is not a big deal.
Can't get Kit out of his head, Will keep coming back searching for the flamboyant guy and he's kind of surprise (not) of who's Kit is.
Both Kit and Will did their job with baggage on their back, they have to make pace with that before everything's solved and they can be together.
I had a little difficulties following Will's thoughts, maybe because all he can think of is how sexy Kit/Kate is and that how much he wanted to bang Kit. But you know what, I can understand that. Kit is 'that' sexy.
My only complaint is there's not enough romantic moments between Kit and Will, and seemed like the 'case' was outnumbered the romance.
But overall, this is a good story,and if you like mysteries and enemy to lovers book, you should read this one.

*I voluntarily read the ARC, no high rating required upon the receiving of this book.*
About the Authors:

Joanna Chambers always wanted to write. She spent over 20 years staring at blank sheets of paper and despairing of ever writing a single word. In between staring at blank sheets of paper, she studied law, met her husband and had two children. Whilst nursing her first child, she rediscovered her love of romance and found her muse. Joanna lives in Scotland with her family and finds time to write by eschewing sleep and popular culture.
Connect with Joanna: Twitter: www.twitter.com/Chambers Joanna Website: https://joannachambers.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/joanna.chambers.


Annika Martin is a NYT bestselling author who enjoys writing dirty stories about dangerous criminals and hot spies. She loves helping animals and kicking snow clumps off the bottom of cars around the streets of Minneapolis, and in her spare time she writes as the RITA award-winning author Carolyn Crane.
Connect With Annika: Website: http://annikamartinbooks.com/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/annika.martin.52 Twitter: https://twitter.com/Annika_Martin Newsletter: http://www.annikamartinbooks.com/newletter/

Wednesday, 17 May 2017

ARC REVIEW : Romancing the Ugly Duckling (Romancing the... #2) by Clare London

34833809 

Is this the makeover of a lifetime?

Ambitious fashionista Perry Goodwood lands the project of his dreams—track down a celebrity family’s missing brother in the Scottish Highlands and bring him back to London for a TV reality show. But first he must transform the rugged loner into a glamorous sophisticate.

Greg Ventura has no use for high fashion. He lives on the isolated island of North Uist to escape the reminder that he’s nowhere near as handsome as his gorgeous brothers and avoid the painful childhood memories of being bullied.

Greg wants nothing to do with city life, and Perry’s never been outside London. When Perry is stranded on North Uist, this conflict seems insurmountable. But Greg is captivated by the vivacious Perry, and Perry by both the island and his host. However, Perry’s one heartfelt wish remains: that ugly duckling Greg fulfill his potential as a swan.
Romancing the Ugly Duckling (Romancing the... #2)Romancing the Ugly Duckling by Clare London
My rating: 4 of 5 stars








This is fun to read. Both Greg and Perry are likeable, and definitely made for each other.
The first book was an okay for me, but I liked this one better.
Grumpy and far from a city life, Greg suddenly met a very city guy, Perry. From the first met, I think Greg had already liked Perry, he's just so good with denying everything, especially in attraction to Perry. Except for his desire for Perry, of course. Duh!
Glad that Perry is kind of stubborn and can manage to cooperating with Greg's mood. Well, Greg had a reason for rejecting the city life himself, and Perry understood. Once he's determined to bring Greg to London whatever it takes, because his fragile job depends on Greg.
I wanted to slap Greg sometimes, but I can't! He's too adorable, probably that's why Perry can't stay away from him.
Overall, this one is a light low angst romance just the way I liked it. But I need epilogue or a better ending for Greg and Perry. I need more.



*I received the ARC from Dreamspinner Press for Lelyana's Book Blog to review.*

View all my reviews

Wednesday, 10 May 2017

ARC REVIEW : Concourse (Five Boroughs #5) by Santino Hassell

30364779 

Ashton Townsend is the most famous celebutante of Manhattan’s glitterati. The black sheep of his wealthy family, he’s known for his club appearances, Instagram account, and sex tape. Most people can’t imagine him wanting for anything, but Ashton yearns for friendship, respect, and the love of his best friend—amateur boxer Valdrin Leka.

Val’s relationship with Ashton is complicated. As the son of Ashton’s beloved nanny, Val has always bounced between resenting Ashton and regarding him as his best friend. And then there’s the sexual attraction between them that Val tries so hard to ignore.

When Ashton flees his glitzy lifestyle, he finds refuge with Val in the Bronx. Between Val’s training for an upcoming fight and dodging paparazzi, they succumb to their need for each other. But before they can figure out what it all means—and what they want to do about it—the world drags them out of their haven, revealing a secret Val has kept for years. Now, Ashton has to decide whether to once again envelop himself in his party-boy persona, or to trust in the only man who’s ever seen the real him.
Concourse (Five Boroughs, #5)










My rating: 4 of 5 stars  
🌟🌟🌟🌟

I'm glad that even I'm a one star believers, I didn't just read and believed the one star reviews this time.
Well I guess it's right when you say that you need a certain 'mood' to read a certain book.
Am I right, or right? Of course I'm right.. :)
We met Ashton in the previous books. a spoiled rich Instagram celebrity, didn't care for anyone in his life. Lies!
Ashton was lonely and desperate for love. He need to feel love, and all he had were some assholes who just wanted his body. But not with Valdrin, his long term best friend and long term crush, but Val's also son of his nanny, the help.
It was kind of silly, of course, the way Val was keeping one secret for so long. But maybe I can understand, Val's probably a Taurus, they keep secrets to their graves and torture themselves instead.
Happened with Val. It hurts seeing Ash with another men, but what else can he do? Kinda doormat there, Val. But once again, I feel Val.
I liked their relationship from the start, the chemistry was there. I like seeing Ashton's development from a total bitch to a total sweetheart for Valdrin.
Note : if you're expected a cheating or orgy, you'll be disappointed. Ash is a sweetheart for Val.
There's also no real angst in this book, just a healthy amount of it, no need to worry for nothing :)
I liked this story. I liked Ash and Val together. Hey, I even liked Luis!
Is he going to have his own story? Who knows...


*ARC provided by publisher through Netgalley*

View all my reviews

Monday, 8 May 2017

RELEASE DAY REVIEW : TEASE (TEMPTATION #4) BY ELLA FRANK



Tease - verb: to tantalize especially by arousing desire or curiosity often without intending to satisfy it....unless your name is Tate Morrison.

It’s been four years since Logan Mitchell walked into Tate’s life and irrevocably changed it. Four years since the sexy as sin lawyer dared him to try, and four years since Tate won his love.

Now, as they approach the next chapter of their lives Logan is determined they won’t end up like many of their friends. Settled. Domestic. Boring. However, that’s easier said than done. With busy careers and working odd hours, finding time for one another is becoming increasingly difficult.

But that sh*t isn’t going to fly with Logan or Tate.

The two of them are determined to compromise to get what it is they want, and what they want is each other.

Tease is the sexy, tantalizing continuation of the two men who stole your heart... and popped your cherry.


Tease (Temptation, #4)Tease by Ella Frank
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


* 3,5 stars*

As much as I’m loving meeting Logan and Tate again after four years of a long wait, I was worried if there’s something happen with the boys in the future, since the ending of book three was kinda vague to me. Lets just saying a happy for now, knowing Logan’s phobia of commitment. As much as I wanted to stop reading and seeing their HEA, it didn’t happen, and I knew that Ella is up for something leaving us hanging like that.

And suddenly, out from nowhere, out of the blue, she came out her writing cave and teased! With book four and two more in the future.
So this is me, reading again, visiting Logan and Tate after four years.
Hey, they’re happy and life’s goes on as planned. How good is that?

As much as I didn’t want to ‘watch’ any more drama with the couple and just wanted a happy settled life, it became old. Even the sex has become old. And I guess, I am to become old, blame my age for skimming some sex.

Don’t get me wrong, the sex as hot as always, Tate and Logan always hot for each other, admiring each other, hard for each other (hehe), the sexual innuendo is everywhere, but it's getting old. You get me?
All I can say is, this is Logan and Tate's daily life, more like a diary, with Tate had to solved his old problem and Logan with his work. And remember Robbie? You'll meet him in this book.

I did enjoy Tate and Logan came alive again, but the story's not going anywhere. I need more, not drama with all the tears and all, but something gripping and meaningful between the two of them.
I still have hope...I do...Maybe in the near future.

* ARC provided by the author for Lelyana's Book Blog to review.*

View all my reviews

ARC REVIEW : Farlough by Xavier Mayne

34865487 

Newly turned thirty, Cameron North is preparing himself to spend his life alone. When he inherits his great-aunt's teashop on the remote island of Farlough, he returns for the first time in more than a dozen years to a place where memories—and demons—flit close to the surface of his mind. There he meets Gwyneth, a sassy barista who becomes his instant best friend—until Cam discovers she’s the wife of his first love, Matthias. She has only the best of intentions when she arranges a reunion between the two men, and it forces them to finally discuss why Cam left the island so long ago.

With his heart broken anew, Cam retreats to his great-aunt’s house—where he learns he is not alone. Someone—or something—has pledged an oath to look out for Cam, and as he investigates the presence, he uncovers wounds that both he and his mysterious guardian sought to escape by coming to Farlough. Now Cam must figure out how to heal them—and himself.
FarloughFarlough by Xavier Mayne
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I had difficulties to keep going and interested.
I loved the blurb and the possibilities of a newfound love and forgiveness of an old love.
But I found this too long and too much telling. Until 60% mark, Cam was still trying to make peace of his past and solved his impending problem with Mads. I didn't like Mads's wife. I think she's annoying and sounds like a nosy old woman, and that's bothering me.
We met Tristan way much later. There's nothing really happen in this book, I kept waiting for a little drama or whatever that make my heart beating faster, but no.
Cam and Tristan got their happy ending of course. But, even the ending did not really gripping.
I need more, or less...No idea. This is kinda let down.

*ARC provided by Dreamspinner Press for reviewing on Lelyana's Book Blog.*

View all my reviews