Saturday, 20 May 2017

ARC REVIEW : Return of the Chauffeur's Son by Tara Lain

34599179 

Luca McGrath may be returning to Napa Valley, California as a promising chef with dreams of starting his own restaurant and winery, but his heart still lives with bad-boy billionaire’s son, James Armstrong. Luca spent his childhood playing games with the golden boy of California society, so blinded by James he barely noticed the dark, quiet lure of his conservative older brother, Dylan Armstrong.

But now, Luca’s home and his own powers of attraction are enough to make James question his dedicated heterosexuality and his promised marriage to a wealthy and powerful businesswoman. The obvious attraction between Luca and James spurs Dylan into action—but he’s fighting a huge secret. While Luca dreamed of James, Dylan dreamed of Luca. When Luca gets caught in the struggle between the brothers and gets accused of culinary espionage he’s ready to chuck the fairy tale—unable to even imagine Dylan’s power to make his dreams come true.
Return of the Chauffeur's SonReturn of the Chauffeur's Son by Tara Lain
My rating: 3 of 5 stars


As much as I want to love this book, there was something's missing, and some thing that was not supposed to be there in the first place. Blame my reading and taste references. Don't blame the book.
I enjoyed 3/4 of the story, the premise is great but I can't find myself too attached to Luca and Dylan.
Poor Dylan. Sigh. I really liked the guy. Dylan is a great guy, but he kept so much inside, and I hate what he didn't show and tell Luca.
While Dylan is busy protecting and doing every 'service' for Luca's sake, Luca is still 'busy' for his dream for James.
And what's this James's sudden attraction to Luca? Because he's so gorgeous, or just curious?
The whole love triangle irked me, because Dylan need to be more 'out' and 'brave' about what he feel about Luca.
I'm not sure about Luca's feeling. But I have a high hope that Dylan will finally make him feel that.
The ending was quite good, and I want to believe that Dylan and Luca will find their HEA in the future.
The HFN is enough for now.



*ARC provided by Dreamspinner Press to review.*

View all my reviews

REVIEW : Enemies like You (Enemies with Benefits #1) by Joanna Chambers&Annika Martin

ENEMIES_RELEASEBOOST

Enemies Like You by Annika Martin & Joanna Chambers is NOW LIVE! Covers by http://rbadesigns.com

AMJCEnemiesLikeYouCover6x9_MEDIUM


They're dangerous men. Absolute enemies. And totally hot for each other. Will has never met anyone like Kit. He’s arrogant. Gorgeous. Lethal. The most expensive bodyguard money can buy. And Will can’t seem to resist him. A simple command in Kit's cut-glass accent makes Will want things he’s never wanted, do things he’s never done. Their red-hot chemistry is off the charts. Just one problem: Will has vowed to kill the billionaire that Kit is hell-bent on protecting. And Kit has secrets, too—his own reasons for sacrificing his soul, piece by painful piece, to keep one of the worst men on earth alive. This is a stand-alone contemporary M/M romance. 



ENEMIES_TEASER1 ENEMIES_TEASER3

DOWNLOAD ENEMIES WITH BENEFITS FOR FREE!

AMJCEnemieswithBenefitsCover6x9_MEDIUM 



They're dangerous men. Absolute enemies. And totally hot for each other. Two years ago, the men in Will’s unit were killed in an ambush because they were betrayed. Now he has a chance to go after the corrupt billionaire who sold them out. One problem: the billionaire’s bodyguard. Nobody knows what he looks like; they only know him by the trail of bodies he leaves behind. Will their passion destroy them both? Kit’s a hardened assassin who’ll do what it takes to protect his boss. But when Will moves on the billionaire at an elite party, things with Will and Kit take an unexpected—sexy—twist.
Now Kit has to convince Will to walk away--from his quest for justice, and from the red-hot passion that keeps resurfacing at the most inopportune times.


BENEFITS_1


REVIEW

This is not my Joanna Chambers first book but I'm not familiar with Annika Martin's writing style.
Adjusting is not easy.But since I was loving the Prologue because it was sexy and I loved Kit so much, adjusting is not a big deal.
Can't get Kit out of his head, Will keep coming back searching for the flamboyant guy and he's kind of surprise (not) of who's Kit is.
Both Kit and Will did their job with baggage on their back, they have to make pace with that before everything's solved and they can be together.
I had a little difficulties following Will's thoughts, maybe because all he can think of is how sexy Kit/Kate is and that how much he wanted to bang Kit. But you know what, I can understand that. Kit is 'that' sexy.
My only complaint is there's not enough romantic moments between Kit and Will, and seemed like the 'case' was outnumbered the romance.
But overall, this is a good story,and if you like mysteries and enemy to lovers book, you should read this one.

*I voluntarily read the ARC, no high rating required upon the receiving of this book.*
About the Authors:

Joanna Chambers always wanted to write. She spent over 20 years staring at blank sheets of paper and despairing of ever writing a single word. In between staring at blank sheets of paper, she studied law, met her husband and had two children. Whilst nursing her first child, she rediscovered her love of romance and found her muse. Joanna lives in Scotland with her family and finds time to write by eschewing sleep and popular culture.
Connect with Joanna: Twitter: www.twitter.com/Chambers Joanna Website: https://joannachambers.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/joanna.chambers.


Annika Martin is a NYT bestselling author who enjoys writing dirty stories about dangerous criminals and hot spies. She loves helping animals and kicking snow clumps off the bottom of cars around the streets of Minneapolis, and in her spare time she writes as the RITA award-winning author Carolyn Crane.
Connect With Annika: Website: http://annikamartinbooks.com/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/annika.martin.52 Twitter: https://twitter.com/Annika_Martin Newsletter: http://www.annikamartinbooks.com/newletter/

Wednesday, 17 May 2017

ARC REVIEW : Romancing the Ugly Duckling (Romancing the... #2) by Clare London

34833809 

Is this the makeover of a lifetime?

Ambitious fashionista Perry Goodwood lands the project of his dreams—track down a celebrity family’s missing brother in the Scottish Highlands and bring him back to London for a TV reality show. But first he must transform the rugged loner into a glamorous sophisticate.

Greg Ventura has no use for high fashion. He lives on the isolated island of North Uist to escape the reminder that he’s nowhere near as handsome as his gorgeous brothers and avoid the painful childhood memories of being bullied.

Greg wants nothing to do with city life, and Perry’s never been outside London. When Perry is stranded on North Uist, this conflict seems insurmountable. But Greg is captivated by the vivacious Perry, and Perry by both the island and his host. However, Perry’s one heartfelt wish remains: that ugly duckling Greg fulfill his potential as a swan.
Romancing the Ugly Duckling (Romancing the... #2)Romancing the Ugly Duckling by Clare London
My rating: 4 of 5 stars








This is fun to read. Both Greg and Perry are likeable, and definitely made for each other.
The first book was an okay for me, but I liked this one better.
Grumpy and far from a city life, Greg suddenly met a very city guy, Perry. From the first met, I think Greg had already liked Perry, he's just so good with denying everything, especially in attraction to Perry. Except for his desire for Perry, of course. Duh!
Glad that Perry is kind of stubborn and can manage to cooperating with Greg's mood. Well, Greg had a reason for rejecting the city life himself, and Perry understood. Once he's determined to bring Greg to London whatever it takes, because his fragile job depends on Greg.
I wanted to slap Greg sometimes, but I can't! He's too adorable, probably that's why Perry can't stay away from him.
Overall, this one is a light low angst romance just the way I liked it. But I need epilogue or a better ending for Greg and Perry. I need more.



*I received the ARC from Dreamspinner Press for Lelyana's Book Blog to review.*

View all my reviews

Wednesday, 10 May 2017

ARC REVIEW : Concourse (Five Boroughs #5) by Santino Hassell

30364779 

Ashton Townsend is the most famous celebutante of Manhattan’s glitterati. The black sheep of his wealthy family, he’s known for his club appearances, Instagram account, and sex tape. Most people can’t imagine him wanting for anything, but Ashton yearns for friendship, respect, and the love of his best friend—amateur boxer Valdrin Leka.

Val’s relationship with Ashton is complicated. As the son of Ashton’s beloved nanny, Val has always bounced between resenting Ashton and regarding him as his best friend. And then there’s the sexual attraction between them that Val tries so hard to ignore.

When Ashton flees his glitzy lifestyle, he finds refuge with Val in the Bronx. Between Val’s training for an upcoming fight and dodging paparazzi, they succumb to their need for each other. But before they can figure out what it all means—and what they want to do about it—the world drags them out of their haven, revealing a secret Val has kept for years. Now, Ashton has to decide whether to once again envelop himself in his party-boy persona, or to trust in the only man who’s ever seen the real him.
Concourse (Five Boroughs, #5)










My rating: 4 of 5 stars  
🌟🌟🌟🌟

I'm glad that even I'm a one star believers, I didn't just read and believed the one star reviews this time.
Well I guess it's right when you say that you need a certain 'mood' to read a certain book.
Am I right, or right? Of course I'm right.. :)
We met Ashton in the previous books. a spoiled rich Instagram celebrity, didn't care for anyone in his life. Lies!
Ashton was lonely and desperate for love. He need to feel love, and all he had were some assholes who just wanted his body. But not with Valdrin, his long term best friend and long term crush, but Val's also son of his nanny, the help.
It was kind of silly, of course, the way Val was keeping one secret for so long. But maybe I can understand, Val's probably a Taurus, they keep secrets to their graves and torture themselves instead.
Happened with Val. It hurts seeing Ash with another men, but what else can he do? Kinda doormat there, Val. But once again, I feel Val.
I liked their relationship from the start, the chemistry was there. I like seeing Ashton's development from a total bitch to a total sweetheart for Valdrin.
Note : if you're expected a cheating or orgy, you'll be disappointed. Ash is a sweetheart for Val.
There's also no real angst in this book, just a healthy amount of it, no need to worry for nothing :)
I liked this story. I liked Ash and Val together. Hey, I even liked Luis!
Is he going to have his own story? Who knows...


*ARC provided by publisher through Netgalley*

View all my reviews

Monday, 8 May 2017

RELEASE DAY REVIEW : TEASE (TEMPTATION #4) BY ELLA FRANK



Tease - verb: to tantalize especially by arousing desire or curiosity often without intending to satisfy it....unless your name is Tate Morrison.

It’s been four years since Logan Mitchell walked into Tate’s life and irrevocably changed it. Four years since the sexy as sin lawyer dared him to try, and four years since Tate won his love.

Now, as they approach the next chapter of their lives Logan is determined they won’t end up like many of their friends. Settled. Domestic. Boring. However, that’s easier said than done. With busy careers and working odd hours, finding time for one another is becoming increasingly difficult.

But that sh*t isn’t going to fly with Logan or Tate.

The two of them are determined to compromise to get what it is they want, and what they want is each other.

Tease is the sexy, tantalizing continuation of the two men who stole your heart... and popped your cherry.


Tease (Temptation, #4)Tease by Ella Frank
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


* 3,5 stars*

As much as I’m loving meeting Logan and Tate again after four years of a long wait, I was worried if there’s something happen with the boys in the future, since the ending of book three was kinda vague to me. Lets just saying a happy for now, knowing Logan’s phobia of commitment. As much as I wanted to stop reading and seeing their HEA, it didn’t happen, and I knew that Ella is up for something leaving us hanging like that.

And suddenly, out from nowhere, out of the blue, she came out her writing cave and teased! With book four and two more in the future.
So this is me, reading again, visiting Logan and Tate after four years.
Hey, they’re happy and life’s goes on as planned. How good is that?

As much as I didn’t want to ‘watch’ any more drama with the couple and just wanted a happy settled life, it became old. Even the sex has become old. And I guess, I am to become old, blame my age for skimming some sex.

Don’t get me wrong, the sex as hot as always, Tate and Logan always hot for each other, admiring each other, hard for each other (hehe), the sexual innuendo is everywhere, but it's getting old. You get me?
All I can say is, this is Logan and Tate's daily life, more like a diary, with Tate had to solved his old problem and Logan with his work. And remember Robbie? You'll meet him in this book.

I did enjoy Tate and Logan came alive again, but the story's not going anywhere. I need more, not drama with all the tears and all, but something gripping and meaningful between the two of them.
I still have hope...I do...Maybe in the near future.

* ARC provided by the author for Lelyana's Book Blog to review.*

View all my reviews

ARC REVIEW : Farlough by Xavier Mayne

34865487 

Newly turned thirty, Cameron North is preparing himself to spend his life alone. When he inherits his great-aunt's teashop on the remote island of Farlough, he returns for the first time in more than a dozen years to a place where memories—and demons—flit close to the surface of his mind. There he meets Gwyneth, a sassy barista who becomes his instant best friend—until Cam discovers she’s the wife of his first love, Matthias. She has only the best of intentions when she arranges a reunion between the two men, and it forces them to finally discuss why Cam left the island so long ago.

With his heart broken anew, Cam retreats to his great-aunt’s house—where he learns he is not alone. Someone—or something—has pledged an oath to look out for Cam, and as he investigates the presence, he uncovers wounds that both he and his mysterious guardian sought to escape by coming to Farlough. Now Cam must figure out how to heal them—and himself.
FarloughFarlough by Xavier Mayne
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I had difficulties to keep going and interested.
I loved the blurb and the possibilities of a newfound love and forgiveness of an old love.
But I found this too long and too much telling. Until 60% mark, Cam was still trying to make peace of his past and solved his impending problem with Mads. I didn't like Mads's wife. I think she's annoying and sounds like a nosy old woman, and that's bothering me.
We met Tristan way much later. There's nothing really happen in this book, I kept waiting for a little drama or whatever that make my heart beating faster, but no.
Cam and Tristan got their happy ending of course. But, even the ending did not really gripping.
I need more, or less...No idea. This is kinda let down.

*ARC provided by Dreamspinner Press for reviewing on Lelyana's Book Blog.*

View all my reviews

ARC REVIEW : Breaking Bonds (The Walker Boys #2) by Ari McKay

34833950 

From the frying pan into the fire.

After a critic’s review attacks both Chef Liam Walker’s culinary skills and his personal life, Liam can no longer take the heat of the cutthroat New York City restaurant scene. He needs to get out of the kitchen—at least long enough to cool down and regroup.

At the Overlook Resort in North Carolina, Liam meets owner Carter Galloway. Carter has a passion for the hospitality business to rival Liam’s own, and it’s not hard to see where their shared interests—and attraction—could lead. But Carter has no interest in a fling, and Liam has no intention of walking away from the career he fought so hard for. If they want a taste of happiness together, they’ll have to find the courage to break the bonds threatening to pull them apart.
Breaking BondsBreaking Bonds by Ari McKay
My rating: 3 of 5 stars








Despite of a fan fiction of Marco Pierre White in Marco the arrogant chef, it's quite enjoyable.



Running away from people who judged you is not easy, especially if you didn't really know what you're looking for. Is it your dreams, or not?
Longed to be the best chef in New York, Liam in fact only the shadow of the arrogant master of manipulation, Marco, his mentor.
And then he met Carter on his getaway, and everything seemed even more confusing.
What is it he's looking for in life? Name of happiness?
Is New York really his dream? Is Marco really worth all his sacrifices of happiness (after he met Carter). Because Carter is very determined for what he wanted in a relationship, and Liam couldn't give him that.
There's a little angst (just a low portion). a little sadness and doubts.
A little cheesy at the end of the story, but this is a fun read, especially when you enjoyed stories with chef and cooking, some recipes, a low angst sweet romance, this is for you.

*ARC provided by Dreamspinner Press. Thanks Hayley!

View all my reviews

Wednesday, 3 May 2017

What Matters by Gracie Leigh

34749010 

“It’s a good fear, Sam. I’d miss it if it wasn’t there...”

Musical prodigy Eddie Dean gets everything she wants. The best violin, the best boyfriend, and a place at the best music school in London are hers until her father goes bankrupt. Once the financial facade comes tumbling down, Eddie’s broke and her boyfriend couldn’t care less.

The doorstep of Jimmy’s Café is the last place she expects to wash up.

Scrubbing dishes and serving fried breakfasts to pay her rent is as hellish as she imagined, and her new life is made worse by the distain of her boss’s sneering grandson. Sam Novak is arrogant, rude, and gorgeous, and if Eddie never sees him again, it will be too soon. Shame she can’t stop thinking about him. Dreaming about him. Craving him.

And then there’s his best friend Dylan.

Dylan is as light as Sam is dark, and Eddie wants him too. She can have him too—according to Sam—but when Sam reveals a vulnerability that could cost him his life, it’s time for Eddie to face the music. Does she still need to get everything she wants, or should she choose what matters?


What MattersWhat Matters by Gracie Leigh
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


I read this for my reading challenge this year to read more than one MF books.
Good thing is, Garrett Leigh written as Gracie Leigh offered her first MF book to read.
I admit I was kinda staggering and scare what if I wouldn't like it or even hate this.
As many MM readers usual 'high standard' in romance, I doubted I'll like this.
But it didn't happen, I liked this book, despite of Sam's annoying behavior and Eddie's slutty attitude, this one was enjoyable. The sex, especially the three-way, was freaking hot.
And I liked Dylan, a lot. I bet he has a story with Sam in the past.
I wouldn't mind to know it in the future. In Dylan's MM book, perhaps?

*ARC provided by the author for a chance of reviewing this title.*

View all my reviews

Thursday, 27 April 2017

ARC Review : Happily Ever After Isn't Easy by Jake C. Wallace


How do you start a new life when your old one won’t let go?

Freed from a marriage he entered because he feared coming out to his judgmental family, Gabe Reynolds feels his life is just starting—at forty-three. But what was supposed to be exciting and wonderful has been nothing but disappointing. The man he’s loved since they were teens broke his heart—again. Gabe has no clue how to meet men who are looking for more than one night, much less date them. Add to that his job as a mental health counselor, helping to keep his mentally ill ex-wife stable, and caring for children that belong to another man, and he has little time to look for Mr. Right.

Just as Gabe is giving up, Brandt Sawyer, with his hard body and gorgeous eyes, crashes into Gabe’s life. Brandt pushes all Gabe’s buttons—though he could do without the younger man’s know-it-all attitude. Gabe never thought he could be so torn between wanting to punch a man and wanting to kiss him. Yet, as he gets to know Brandt, Gabe sees past the military-programmed ex-soldier and catches a glimpse of what could be his happily ever after.

But with a troubled ex and young children involved, Gabe can’t just walk away from his past. Guilt is tearing him in every direction—maybe even away from the man he’s falling in love with.
Happily Ever After Isn't EasyHappily Ever After Isn't Easy by Jake C. Wallace
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


This book has a lot to say. About relationships, acceptance, forgiveness, kids, hope and desperation.
It's quite a long book but even it started slow in the beginning, I enjoyed Gabe's journey to find his happily ever after.
It's an enemy to lover story, not so much of an enemy actually. It was just a different perception about how to 'communicate' with kids with Brandt.
They're quite good in communication those two. And good with kids on their own way.
When the attraction between the two guys became clear there's an ex (exes) problems.
Some misunderstanding happened, of course, but they solved it without too much drama added.
Oh and the sex between Gabe and Brandt is hot (grins), we're all need this anyway.
Overall, this one is a good read, thoughtful and promising.
Recommended.

*ARC provided by Dreamspinner Press for a fair and unbiased review.*

View all my reviews

Wednesday, 26 April 2017

ARC REVIEW : One Call Away by Felice Stevens

When a brutal attack from a jealous competitor leaves Noah Strauss, darling of the modeling world, physically scarred and emotionally damaged, he quits the runway to become a psychologist. Using his contacts from his time in the spotlight, he creates One Call Away, a radio show dedicated to gay men looking for love, advice or someone to talk to. But with secrets of his own and a mother who refuses to understand the career path he's chosen, the one person Noah can't seem to help is himself.

On a drunken dare from the senior partner's grandson, Oren Leavitt calls Noah’s radio show, pretending to be gay. Only Oren isn't certain if he's pretending. He's left his strict Orthodox Jewish upbringing behind, but the guilt remains. Guilt that his actions have prevented his sister from finding a husband and guilt that he's failed his parents. Talking to "Dr. Noah" helps, and as he finds himself calling the man again and again, he knows he must be honest. But Oren is unsure if he's lying to Noah or himself.

For Noah, trust is paramount; he's been deceived in his personal and professional life and while he desperately wants to help Oren, he also finds himself falling for the sweet and tortured man. Oren is trapped: he risks losing his job and more importantly the love and security of his family but knows he can't hide if he wants to be with Noah. When unresolved heartaches from the past rise up to control the present, Noah and Oren discover that love often comes from the most unexpected places, and sometimes a call for help not only saves a life, it can be a new and beautiful beginning.

One Call Away

One Call Away by Felice Stevens
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


This book hit close to home to me. Oren and Noah touched my fragile heart in a way, only Micah from Memories of the heart can do. I think I always have a soft spot for people like Micah, Noah and Oren. Especially Oren, I know how much he love his traditional religious family, that’s why he did all he can to cope with that. But still he can’t stay. But admitting that he’s gay? That’s another story. That’s the problem with the traditional religion like Jewish (Oren is Jewish). Felice talked a lot about religion in this book, I think we have the same problem in the modern world, I’m Muslim and there’s no differences about my religion’s perspective of homosexual. Oren struggled with that. With family and at work. Then he found Noah and his radio show. Noah, who has his own demon to fight.

I loved the chemistry and the strong attraction between the two men since their first call. It’s just they can’t stop thinking about the call, and become addicted to each other. And I can feel how much Oren need Noah as much as Noah need Oren.

We also can ‘see’ the guys from Through Hell and Back in this book as cameos. Especially Dr. Tash and Asher! OMG Asher! I wouldn’t spoil you about this, because, well, you need to meet the guys…For you who haven’t read TH&B, don’t worry, this can be read as stand alone. But where have you been this time? Go read the series after this and meet all my favorite guys!

I read this book twice already, and I think I need more of Noah and Oren in the future, in Jeremy’s book maybe? Oh and I loved Jeremy, I NEED Jeremy in my life!!!!


*ARC generously provided by the author for an honest, and unbiased review.*

 

View all my reviews

Saturday, 22 April 2017

ARC REVIEW : Setting the Hook by Andrew Grey

34466050 

It could be the catch of a lifetime. William Westmoreland escapes his unfulfilling Rhode Island existence by traveling to Florida twice a year and chartering Mike Jansen’s fishing boat to take him out on the Gulf. The crystal-blue water and tropical scenery isn’t the only view William enjoys, but he’s never made his move. A vacation romance just isn’t on his horizon.

William Westmoreland escapes his unfulfilling Rhode Island existence by traveling to Florida twice a year and chartering Mike Jansen’s fishing boat to take him out on the Gulf. The crystal-blue water and tropical scenery isn’t the only view William enjoys, but he’s never made his move. A vacation romance just isn’t on his horizon.

Mike started his Apalachicola charter fishing service as a way to care for his daughter and mother, putting their safety and security ahead of the needs of his own heart. Denying his attraction becomes harder with each of William’s visits.

William and Mike’s latest fishing excursion starts with a beautiful day, but a hurricane’s erratic course changes everything, stranding William. As the wind and rain rage outside, the passion the two men have been trying to resist for years crashes over them. In the storm’s wake, it leaves both men yearning to prolong what they have found. But real life pulls William back to his obligations. Can they find a way to reduce the distance between them and discover a place where their souls can meet? The journey will require rough sailing, but the bright future at the end might be worth the choppy seas.
Setting the HookSetting the Hook by Andrew Grey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Family is very important for both William and Mike.
So when they're finally can pass their doubts about each other, and falling in love, would family become something torn them apart?
At first, yes. But they worked it out with the help of their family members, especially Mike's little daughter to encourage them to reach their own happiness.
I liked it how William didn't just jump into the relationship with Mike, but he had to make everything worked out for his parents.
Not to ignore Mike, but working it out.
I'm glad that there's no big drama, but enough to make sure that this is what they wanted.
I liked William, I think he's doing so much for Mike and their relationship. I can understand why Mike was hesitant at first, but, there's nothing you can't solve with a good communication, right?


*ARC provided by Dreamspinner press for an honest and unbiased review.*

View all my reviews

Thursday, 13 April 2017

ARC REVIEW ; Stage Two (Lexington Lovers #3) by Ariel Tachna

34610040 

Love has a steep learning curve.

Assistant high school principal Blake Barnes has everything he wants—a chance to help troubled students and an outlet for his passion for theater. Well, almost everything—he still goes home to an empty apartment. Then his high school crush explodes back into his life, the unexpected guardian of two boys in Blake’s care.

Thane Dalton has always been a bad boy through and through. Not much has changed, including his mistrust of authority figures, and no amount of institutional bureaucracy will keep him from protecting his nephews from the bullies terrorizing them. If that means butting heads with Blake, so be it.

Blake and Thane have lessons to learn: that they both have the boys’ best interests at heart, that the tension between them isn’t just confrontational, and that sparks can fly when opposites come together.
Stage Two (Lexington Lovers, #3)Stage Two by Ariel Tachna
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Blake has always been a good teacher for his students.
But meeting Thane, his teenage crush lowered down his self confidence.
Definitely an opposite attracts since the beginning, Thane didn't even realized or remember about Blake back then.
He's always an arrogant one.
But after his sister left him with his two teenage nephew, he's suddenly became a parent and he seemed a little unprepared for that. Especially when he have to face bullying.
Blake offered his idea. Didn't trust Blake in the beginning, they're finally passed the barricade of awkward teacher-parent relationship, became friends, and then lovers.
This a sweet story about acceptance, grief, adjustment and a chance o be more.
Not a hard book, the bullying is light one, the nephews are both great.
This one is more of 'family building', and how to be a parent for teenagers..ouch. Not easy, I know.
This is a good book, read this one.

*ARC provided by Dreamspinner press in exchange of an honest and fair review.&

View all my reviews

ARC REVIEW : Two for Trust by Elle Brow

34744739 

A fairy-tale vacation—if he can get the ending right.

American nurse Finch Mason steps beyond the comfort of his orderly life and takes a dream trip to England, complete with a National Trust Pass so he can visit numerous historical sites. At the first one on his list, he’s warmly welcomed—and told he bought a pass good for two.

Finch doesn’t hesitate to offer the pass to Benedict, a handsome Brit also there on an outing. They spend a magical week touring the countryside, and while it’s too soon to get attached, Finch wishes their time together would never end.

Then Finch finds himself stuck abroad with no money, and he has no one to turn to but Benedict. Benedict is happy to help, but he also owes Finch some answers—such as who he really is and why he was at the estate where they first met.
Two for TrustTwo for Trust by Elle Brownlee
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

2,5*

This is an insta-love countryside and a very clean romance. Not even a romance, they're just sharing some walk and outing and nursing a grandma.
There's the robbery and some accident and also the exes, of course...
But even the kisses were just kisses...not even a passionate one.
I didn't see romance and a strong chemistry between the two MC.
Honestly, I was skimming a lot. Too much telling didn't sit well with me apparently. I was bored easily.
Oh and no sex on page or off page. They're seems like a traditional sweet couple who's doing sex after marriage.
I think this is just not my cuppa.
You'll probably like it though.

ARC provided by the publisher for an honest, fair and unbiased review.

View all my reviews

ARC REVIEW : Hearts in Ireland (World of Love) by J.C. Long

34825277 

When the future is shrouded and it’s hard to find direction, maybe it’s time to let the heart lead the way….

Ronan Walker stands at a crossroads, unsure how to pursue his education… unsure if he even wants to. Now that his mother is gone, all he has left are the wonderful stories of her youth in Ireland, and he’s drawn to the land of his ancestors. There, he seeks out his mother’s family and meets Fergal Walsh, who works at Ronan’s aunt’s bookstore. A love of literature facilitates a fast friendship between the two men, and even though Ronan cannot deny the potential—and his desire—for more, he cannot see a future for the two of them when he leaves Ireland. Fergal must persuade Ronan to give school in Dublin a chance—and convince Ronan that his heart has already found its home.


World of Love: Stories of romance that span every corner of the globe.
Hearts in Ireland (World of Love)Hearts in Ireland by J.C. Long
My rating: 3 of 5 stars


This is the story of finding your root and your home. Easy and light and sweet.
But sadly I didn't find any good connection between the two MCs.
It's a love at first sight and moving forward to a relationship and love in days is okay with me, but I need more strong chemistry, a sparkle , a heart-beating fast. But, no.
It was just when they're first met, in the book store and Fergal bought a book for Ronan and invited him to lunch. Ronan is clueless about Fergal and Fergal didn't seem to show any determination about what he wanted.
It was smooth, a bit arguing about whether Ronan stay or back to USA.
This was an okay read, but not very memorable to me.

*ARC provided by the publisher for an hones, fair and unbiased review.*

View all my reviews

Sunday, 9 April 2017

ARC REVIEW : Imagines (Imago #2) by N.R. Walker

33973808 

Jack Brighton and Lawson Gale have been together for six months and are very much in love. Lawson’s work ensuring the survival of the Tillman Copper is demanding as ever, and Jack’s work with the regeneration of the bushfire-ravaged national park is just as hectic.

When Jack suggests they take a short trip, Lawson agrees. But then he is offered a two-week research position in tropical Queensland to help determine why the Ulysses butterfly is on the decline. Figuring they could combine work and pleasure, Jack and Lawson go on their first vacation together.

Working alongside renowned professor Piers Bonfils isn’t easy. But personal and professional differences aside, Lawson is offered a more permanent role in Queensland. Torn between his new life in Tasmania with Jack and a dying species of butterfly he feels compelled to save, Lawson has to decide where his fate lies.

But fate changes the rules. On a research expedition into the depths of the rainforest, suddenly it's not only the butterflies’ existence that hangs in the balance

A butterfly’s life cycle never changes. From larvae to imago, their course is plotted by design. Jack and Lawson need to determine where they stand, if they live through it. Because the only thing more incredible than one imago is two.

Imagines (Imago, #2)Imagines by N.R. Walker
My rating: 5 of 5 stars






Looking for true love is never easy. But in Jack's case, his true love was just stumbled in front of him, literally. Lawson with his determined attitude locked his heart forever.
Lawson and Jack is getting stronger, their love is a true example of an unconditional love.
Where everything is less important than their love ones.
Jack gave all his heart to Lawson with all 'the consequences', and Lawson to jack.
This is sweet, adorable story, completed with Lawson's 'habit' of finding himself in danger and near death. But that moment alone, showed how much Jack cannot stand to live without Lawson and the fear of losing him, is so unbearable to Jack.
This is jack and Lawson's journey, with all the flaws, imperfect but perfect for the two of them.
Their love is..you know, that kind of forever kind of love, and I couldn't ask for more perfect story from Nic Walker.
I missed the boys already. Jack and Lawson will stay in a very long time in my life.
and I'm sure, I'll visit them eventually in the near future.
Highly recommended, especially for NR Walker addict out there!


*ARC generously provided by the author for a fair, honest and unbiased review.*

View all my reviews

Thursday, 6 April 2017

ARC REVIEW : Starting from Scratch (Housemates #5) by Jay Northcote

34373132 

Starting over isn’t easy, but Ben is ready to live his life as the man he was always meant to be.

Ben is transgender and back at university after hormone treatment and chest surgery. His new housemates have no idea about his history and Ben would prefer to keep it that way. He’s starting from scratch and his life is finally on track, except in the romance department. The idea of dating guys as a guy is exhilarating but terrifying, because if Ben wants a boyfriend he’ll have to disclose his secret.

Sid is drawn to Ben from the moment they meet. He normally gets what he wants—in the short term at least. Ben’s guarded at first, and Sid’s not used to guys rejecting his advances. He eventually charms his way through Ben’s defences and helps Ben on his journey of sexual awakening.

It doesn’t matter to Sid that Ben is trans. He’s attracted to the whole person, and isn’t worried about what is—or isn’t—in Ben’s pants. They’re good together, and both of them are falling hard and fast, but Ben’s insecurities keep getting in the way. If Sid can convince Ben he's committed, will Ben finally be able to put his heart on the line?

Although this book is part of the Housemates series, it has new main characters, a satisfying happy ending, and can be read as a standalone.
Length: 57,000 words approx.
Starting from Scratch (Housemates, #5)Starting from Scratch by Jay Northcote
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I know this book means a lot to Jay Northcote, as a coming out shout out to the world.
I really enjoyed the relationship between Ben and Sid. As for Sid, he's s got all my respect for 'accepting', while so many people still struggling out there.

And I admired Ben's courage for coming out to Sid and the whole world about his gender, finally. I have a transgender relative close to my heart that still struggling to come out, so I really know how hard this is for all the transgender people to 'face' the world.

Telling your story would help a lot. Tell people, tell your family, don't try to kill yourself, because you are beautiful as you are, don't let people destroy your dreams to be what you really are.
This is a coming out story, but the story about Sid and Ben really touched my heart, and this is special to me too, Jay.
Read the book, read Ben's story, and you'll understand the real struggle being a transgender.
This book is an eye opener. Well done.


* I was given the ARC by the author for an honest and unbiased review.*

View all my reviews


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jay Northcote   
Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England. He comes from a family of writers, but always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed him by. He spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, Jay decided to try and write a short story—just to see if he could—and found it rather addictive. He hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary romance about men who fall in love with other men. Jay has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and he also self-publishes under the imprint Jaybird Press. Many of his books are now available as audiobooks.

Jay is transgender and was formerly known as she/her.

Wednesday, 5 April 2017

ARC REVIEW : My Dragon, My Knight by John Inman

33963123 

Danny Sims is in over his head, torn between his abusive lover, Joshua, and Jay Holtsclaw, the bartender up the street, who offers Danny the one thing he never gets at home: understanding.

When Joshua threatens to get rid of Danny’s terrier, Danny knows he has to act fast. Afraid of what Joshua will do to the dog, and afraid of what Joshua will do to him if he tries to leave, Danny does the only thing he can do.

He runs.

But Danny isn’t a complete fool. He has enough sense to run into the arms of the man who actually cares for him—the man he’s beginning to trust.

Just as their lives together are starting to fall into place, Danny and Jay learn how vengeful Joshua can be.

And how dangerous.
My Dragon, My KnightMy Dragon, My Knight by John Inman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Running away from your abusive partner and found your sanctuary doesn't make you one hundred percent safe.
ask it to Denny and Joy, his friend, his sanctuary, his lover after they're living together in Jay's house.
No, not like that, they're friends first, the 'relationship' came smoothly by time, not an insta-love kind of love.
They built it one day at the time. Until Denny feel really safe and can trust jay with his heart.
But you know about abusive, jealous ex-lover, right?
They haunted you, and you can't be feeling really safe until 'it's over'.
john Inman didn't write a lovey dovey light reading this time, but some tension afetr tension after tension made, ended with with a bang!
I wish the ending wasn't like that.
Don't worry about the Denny and Jay, but there's something precious in their life was gone after what's Joshua did.
This is a good story though. Not an easy one through the ending, especially the ending. Damn.


*ARC provided by Dreamspinner Pressfor an honest review. No high rating required upon the receiving of this copy.*

View all my reviews

ARC REVIEW : From War to Forever (War Trilogy #1) by Andria Large

34672892 

2nd Edition

Dennis

The love of my life is dead. Is there a reason to live anymore?

I’m a veteran Marine. Terrorists took not only my foot, but also my wife. Recurrent nightmares, a dead-end job, and a painful limp are all I have left. My best friend, Tucker, and my sister, Lizette, keep me afloat. I wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for Tucker… literally. And then, out of nowhere, there are these feelings. The kind I haven’t felt in years. The kind I’m not sure I can handle, or even want to. But they’ve started wrapping around my broken heart, trying to mend it. Only they are not for a woman, but for the man suddenly sharing my bed. I’m not so sure I’m ready to give love another go.

Tucker

The war took my hearing, but I’m alive. Many of my friends are not. I am building a life with my best friend, Dennis. We have become practically inseparable. And now, we are more than friends. I’ve never had feelings like these for a man. My parents, my brother, my buddy, Duke—will they understand how I feel about Dennis? Can I risk losing my family?

First Edition published as At War by KDP Select, 2015.
From War to ForeverFrom War to Forever by Andria Large
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Second edition by Dreamspinner Press
This is book 1 - 3 of the series, so I didn't read the series partly. It's good because I read some reader ranting about book two.

You what they say about first time gay a.k.a GFY right? Either it's hot or wrong.
This one thankfully, is very hot with lot's of stories of pain between the two best friends.
For four years living together, they're finally found the comfort in each other's arms. Some questions made, some confusing and denials, but they're obviously been in love for each other for long just didn't realized it.
Losing someone you love in front of your eyes add some lifetime traumatized moment you can 'never' forget is huge. But Dennis have Tucker who's there for him in time of pain and hurt.
With an additional Duke (oh I liked this guy), they become one team outside the army.
The true conflict is between Dennis and Tucker. Some stupid decisions made, glad there's Duke as a buffer between them.
This is a story about acceptance, forgive yourself, guilt and redemption of the two men with PTSD.
they're struggled each and everyday of their life not to break, and hang on to each other for strength.
Sad, but there's also a lot of sexy times and loud moments ;) (Duke cannot stand them, of course).
I enjoyed this book, and I hope you'll like this as much as I did, or more!

* ARC provided by Dreamspinner Press for a fair and unbiased review.*

View all my reviews

ARC REVIEW : A Day Makes by Mary Calmes

34568448 

Mob enforcer Ceaton Mercer has killed a lot of people in a lot of different ways - he stashed the last two bodies in a toolshed belonging to a sweetheart marine researcher in an idyllic island community - but he's really not such a bad guy. Over time he's found a home of sorts, and he even learns he's found a place in the hearts of the people he works with...at least enough so that they won't put a bullet in his head because he's outlived his usefulness to the boss.

But he never thought he'd find one day could change his life, and he's about to discover how wrong he is.

Because in a single day, he meets the man who looks to be the one, the love of his life. It's an improbable idea - a man who deals in death finding love - but it's like it's meant to be. That single day gets weirder and troubles pile up, forcing Ceaton to take a hard look at his dreary life and accept that one day can change everything, especially himself. His future might be brighter than he expects - if he can stay alive long enough to find out.



A Day MakesA Day Makes by Mary Calmes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Oh WOW!
If you're asking me, what's Mary Calmes really good at in this genre, it's when she writes this kind of story. With a mob enforcer, villains, guns, and the MCs sweetness in the middle.
I was blown away....
If you're asking me what a day makes? It's a lot. Remember anything can happen in one second?
A day is about 86.400 seconds, right? Then there's 86.400 opportunity of anything.
Okay, enough the math, it makes me dizzy already.
A mob enforcer, a former marine has to face some confusing moments in his life, about his boss, about his current job, as a baby sitter for the boss friend's son. Who's not a baby at all.
I liked this story, a lot. I enjoyed this especially the interaction between the two MCs.
You know what people says about Mary Calmes cracks? It is indeed.
A crack came with a cute botton nose, curly hair and a determined personality in tag.
So prepare for a surprise and a joy and a happy happy happy ending.
Couldn't say more than this, except, read this book, and you'll get Mary Calmes at her best, and probably will become one of your near future favorite!


* ARC is provided by Dreamspinner Press for a fair and unbiased review. With no spoiler.*

View all my reviews

ARC REVIEW : Olive Juice by T.J. Klune

32993007
It begins with a message that David cannot ignore:

I want to see you.

He agrees, and on a cold winter’s night, David and Phillip will come together to sift through the wreckage of the memory of a life no longer lived.

David is burdened, carrying with him the heavy guilt of the past six years upon his shoulders.

Phillip offers redemption.
 
ebook, 121 pages
Expected publication: April 26th 2017 by Dreamspinner Press
ISBN13
9781635335026
Edition Language
English
Olive Juice

Olive Juice by T.J. Klune
My rating: 4 of 5 stars




This is dark and full of surprise that's (actually) not really surprise at all.
I knew what will hit me soon after one thing lead to another.
But I still didn't prepare that I will feel all the pain and crying so much. I thought I was strong enough for this kind of book. But apparently not.

I feel like I knew David and Phillip, what's their story and all.
There's tears, and a deep wounded between the two men. This is not a happy story. It's a little death, according what they had been trough.
This is like David's diary about what happened in their life, the before and after. Because we're only read from David perspective. I need to know Phillip too.

I hope I didn't give you any spoilers, but I hope I can give you some spoilers. But I cannot.
You have to go blind if you decided to read this book. Then you'll feel what I and some early readers feel.
Punch in a gut, angst in a top of angst, anger and a long sadness. Don't expect romance and sex, I don't think this one is romance.
This is David's story.
I didn't really (enjoy) the book , because..Man, what kind of person are you if you "enjoy" it?
I still think you need to read this one. Prepare for a deep thoughts and some tissues...
I need a book of 'happy' after this...

* ARC was given by Dreamspinner Press for an honest and unbiased review*

View all my reviews