Thursday, 21 September 2017

SPOILER FREE ARC REVIEW : The Half Wolf by Jay Northcote



36227588 

Title: The Half Wolf
Author: Jay Northcote
Publisher: Jaybird Press (self published)
Length: 65,000 words approx
Genre: Paranormal, contemporary/AU, m/m romance, wolf shifters.
Cover Artist: Garrett Leigh
Release Date: Tues 26th of September 2017
Series info: This book is a standalone


Blurb

Mate, family, pack, home… can Quinn and Kellan have it all?

Quinn grew up feeling out of place in the small town he calls home. Yearning for something he can’t name, he’s always felt different but never known why.

Kellan is part of a nomadic shifter pack. When they set up camp in the woods near Quinn’s town, the humans are unwelcoming and suspicious of the newcomers. The moment Kellan catches sight—and scent—of Quinn, he knows Quinn is special. But for the first time in his life, Kellan can’t trust his instincts. Quinn is human, and Kellan is a wolf shifter, so how can they ever be mates?

Their bond is instant and exhilarating. It breaks Quinn’s heart to know their relationship can only be temporary. Love isn’t enough when pack law forbids shifters to mate with humans. Tension explodes between pack and humans, and when Quinn discovers a shocking truth about himself that changes everything, he fears he’ll have to choose between the only life he’s ever known and the man he loves.


REVIEW

While I read this book, I kept questioning about 'why didn't Jay Northcote didn't write shifter book before?'. Because damn, you can write shifter real good, man!
And I'm loving everything you wrote, especially the chemistry between Kellan and Quinn since the first time they met.
It's a wolf thing, of course, I was searching for cheesy, but I didn't find it. It's just sweet and adorable, with some twist. I really enjoyed the fast pace, and the 'problem' thing in this book, without being too scary or too sweet.
This one is Jay's debut of MM shifter book, and I want you to write this genre again. I will definitely savor every one of them.
Damn, Jay! You are really good with this one. I can say, beside The Law of Attraction
and Passing Through, this is easily become one of my favorite of Jay's book.
I was blown away.
Highly recommended for shifter lover, I promised you, you need this one in your life.

*I voluntarily read the ARC provided by the author for an honest and unbiased review.*







Buy Links

To follow


NB: This book will be exclusive to Amazon for 90 days, after that it will be available at all major retailers.

Goodreads link:


Author Bio

Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England. He comes from a family of writers, but always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed him by. He spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, Jay decided to try and write a short story—just to see if he could—and found it rather addictive. He hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary romance about men who fall in love with other men. He has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and also self-publishes under the imprint Jaybird Press. Many of his books are now available as audiobooks.

Jay is transgender and was formerly known as she/her.

Links

Wednesday, 20 September 2017

COVER REVEAL ! ALL OR NOTHING BY FELICE STEVENS.

SBPRBanner-AllorNothing-CR.jpg

All or Nothing an all-new, steamy MM romance by Felice Stevens is coming October 3rd!

AllOrNothing-400x600


All or Nothing by Felice Stevens Publication Date: October 3rd, 2017 Genre: Contemporary MM Romance
Cover Designer: Reese Dante
Photographer: Golden Czermak of FuriousFotog


A past he couldn’t forget
Adam Barton is living his dream of working as a firefighter in his small Texas town, but a tragedy from his youth continues to haunt him. He decides New York City is the perfect place to start a new life and joins the FDNY, living and loving his own way—no strings and nothing personal. Until he catches sight of Rico Estevez, the sexy chef with the mysterious smile who rocks his world. After one explosive night together, Adam craves another….And then another. The more he and Rico are together, the more Adam wants him.
A future he never imagined
Rico Estevez is living a lie. For years he’s hidden his sexuality, afraid to hurt the career of his politically ambitious father. He’s the perfect American―the best schools, top of his class and most importantly, to his father, a successful businessman. Who needs a boyfriend when sex is so easy to find? Starting a torrid love affair with Adam Barton isn’t a problem; neither one is looking toward forever. But Rico’s father is about to get the chance of a lifetime and Rico feels forced to play by his rules.
Rules are made to be broken
Adam proves more unforgettable than Rico ever imagines, but he gives in to family pressures above personal desire. When a fire reunites them, both men discover their passion for each other hasn’t died; rather it’s stronger than ever. Want turns to need and something more dangerous to their hearts—love. Adam and Rico know if they want to have it all, they can let no one and nothing stand in their way of a life together.
 

Add to GoodReads: http://bit.ly/2w36d31

 

Start the Series of Standalones Today!

Learning to Love
Add to GoodReads: http://bit.ly/2xMHO6c
The Way to His Heart
Add to GoodReads: http://bit.ly/2hdUCrB

About Felice:



  I have always been a romantic at heart. I believe that while life is tough, there is always a happy ending around the corner, My characters have to work for it, however. Like life in NYC, nothing comes easy and that includes love, but getting there is oh so fun and oh so sexy. I live in New York City with my husband and two children. My day begins with a lot of caffeine and ends with a glass (or two of red wine). I practice law but daydream of a time when I can sit by a beach somewhere and write beautiful stories of men falling in love. Although there are bound to be a few bumps along the way, a Happily Ever After is always guaranteed.

Connect with Felice:

Stay up to date with Felice by signing up for her newsletter here:

Sunday, 10 September 2017

Lelyana's Book Blog: BLOG TOUR REVIEW : Tate (Temptation #5) by Ella F...

Lelyana's Book Blog: BLOG TOUR REVIEW : Tate (Temptation #5) by Ella F...:   William Tate Morrison – The man who came into my life and turned my entire world—and me—on its ass. Logan Mitchell has always been a m...

BLOG TOUR REVIEW : Tate (Temptation #5) by Ella Frank

34854273 

William Tate MorrisonThe man who came into my life and turned my entire world—and me—on its ass.

Logan Mitchell has always been a man with a plan.
One for work. One for his relationship. And one for his life. Which is exactly the way he liked it—until recently.
Now with words like marriage and weddings floating around his head, Logan’s plans have suddenly changed course, and where they want him to go has him feeling somewhat distracted.

Tate Morrison knows Logan better than anybody else—or so he thinks. So when his lawyer is finding it hard to sleep at night, he chalks it up to the craziness that has recently descended on their lives.
Never in a million years would he guess what’s really on Logan’s mind.

Tate is the fifth book in the Temptation Series, and the next chapter in the lives of the two men we have all come to know and love.
Tate (Temptation, #5)










Tate by Ella Frank
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

You know the feeling when you started the 'next book' in a journey of your favorite characters in the series, and asking 'what's next?' and slide glare to the author, and saying 'What else you're going to do huh? Makes my boys suffer again and not giving them their HEA already?'.
Yeah, that feeling, and I was kinda pissed at Ella Frank for giving me another..."wait, hold my beer..." statement. I'm telling you, this woman is mean! (I know you laugh there. Ella!)
But I can't help myself and keep reading, what a masochist I am. And a torture I've got.
Dammit.

I tried not to give you spoilers, but damn...
All I can say is, this one is a better one than book four, more feeling of "what if..."
Gave me more curiosity, and when 'that moment' hit me like a truck! I was just stop breathing and WTF was happened?
And then, I stopped reading, and put the book down, took a deep breath, and analyzed the situation, not only in Logan's POV, but mostly in Tate's POV.

I was in Tate's position before, and trust me, when it comes to what Tate's experienced that night, I understood.
The fear is unbearable. It's like when you wanted to make everything's fine and smooth and okay, but you're just can't.
It's the point of no return, and you need to think fast, but you can't.
You know what I mean? If not, you'll get the feeling after you read this book.

Some people 'might' hate Tate and cursed him for what he said and did, but not me, definitely not me. Once again, I understood.
I know Tate, and I know Logan. Hell, I invented my time for the boys, and I'm glad they're not overly dramatic about their relationship.
The ending was, well...I can say a half of a cliffhanger, but not really. They talked, finally, instead of running away from each other and left it hanging.

And as for the sex, it was Ella's usual, and when it comes to Tate and Logan, we know the rules..."Don't miss it!" Haha!

Note to author : I hope Priest and Robbie 'will' have their own story in the near future. :)

Final thought : this one is a must read, especially if you're Tate and Logan's shipper. Totally worth the 'suspense'. (wink)

*ARC provided by the author for Lelyana's Book Blog review.*

View all my reviews

Wednesday, 6 September 2017

Finding Mr. Wright (Leaning N #2) by B.A. Tortuga

35898071 


Everything’s bigger in Texas, including weddings. And misunderstandings.

Colorado wedding planner Mason O’Reilly lands a major contract: a two-hundred-guest wedding at the Leanin’ N Ranch, where his friends Ford and Stoney are working to provide a safe space for GLBT events. The Wright/Preston ceremony is a destination wedding, and as the grooms are from Texas, everything is done over the phone and email. There’s no way that could lead to trouble, right?

Oops.

Oil tycoon Noah Wright isn’t happy about the impending disaster, but he admires Mason’s quick thinking and grace under pressure. And that’s not all he likes about the out-and-proud wedding planner. Even though Mason’s interested in Noah, his Mr. Right can’t possibly be a rancher from Dallas.

Can he?
Finding Mr. Wright (Leaning N, #2; Dreamspun Desires, #42)










Finding Mr. Wright by B.A. Tortuga
My rating: 3 of 5 stars




Remember the event organizer, Mason? Yeah that little firecracker is finally met his love interest, Noah, the Texan billionaire (sigh... my dream, really).
This book is thick with Texas all over. I have a little problem with the names the called each other (Honey and Mister). It irked me a bit and made me roll my eyes so many times.
There's a lot misunderstanding between Mason and Noah, good thing is, they talked about it, and solved the problem quite easily, without making it complicated. I liked that.
To be honest, I liked the first book better than this, maybe because it's too much telling and party details? (I have no idea). Some readers probably like it though.
But, if you're familiar with Texas tradition and all, well you'll probably enjoy this one.
Why not giving it a try?

Note : even this book can read as a stand alone, if you didn't read the first one, you'll get lost when you'll get to meet the previous character. So, yeah, basically, you need to read the first book before this.

*ARC provided by Dreamspinner press for an honest and fair review.*

View all my reviews

ARC REVIEW : Pins and Needles by A.J. Thomas

33349745 


The truth is rarely seen on the surface, and getting to it might mean digging deep….

After a devastating accident and a long stay in the hospital, the last thing petroleum engineer Sean Wilkinson wants to deal with is the settlement the oil company tries to force on him. He’ll never be able to work in his field again, his education is all but useless, and his surgeons are pessimistic about whether he’ll ever walk again. He needs someone in his corner, but most lawyers take one look at his tattoo-covered foster father and turn their backs. It’s just Sean’s luck that the one attorney willing to give him a chance is also the hottest guy he’s ever seen.

As a trial lawyer, Nate Delany has a lot to prove—to his father, the world, and himself. Sean intrigues Nate, and he struggles to reconcile the gifted tattoo artist he can’t stop fantasizing about with the quiet, brilliant engineer. His investigation reveals facts left out of the accident report—including an illicit affair, greedy coworkers, and a vicious corporation that will do anything to protect its bottom line. When Sean’s life is threatened, winning Sean’s case, and his heart, becomes a lot more dangerous.
Pins and Needles







Pins and Needles by A.J. Thomas
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It's interesting that I'm the one who's usually bored during the 'technical' reading, had never bored at all. There's so much information about the law and things with Sean's job that I read without skimming.
This is actually more 'stories' about how Nate and Sean handled the case entirely, bot with Nate's job and Sean's very complicated case.
There are some romantic moments between the, not much heat (imo), because I think the author really focused on the mystery in this story.
It's a really good story, but I need more steam and more romance between Nate and Sean. They deserved it after all.
The chemistry was there, slowly developing, but I don't know, I need 'more' of Sean and Nate.
But the case was really distracted me for Nate and Sean's romance, so yeah, I enjoyed the whole story. The ending though, was a 'promised', of a HEA.
But most of all, this is about family, I'm not happy about part of Nate's family didn't sit well with him, but I'm glad that Sean's family problem with Hawk ended really good.
Good story, good mystery, and two men in love, what's not to love?
Read this book!

View all my reviews

Earning His Trust by Alicia Nordwell

35901139 



Evin lost the only two men he ever loved. But he might get a second chance with one of them—if he’s willing to take the risk.

Following the death of his husband, Evin is living in Portland and raising the infant son they had through a surrogate. Six-month-old Micah is his life, and if it means no time for activities or friendships beyond his minuscule support network, that’s a sacrifice Evin is willing to make. When he suffers a burn baking teething biscuits, the last person Evin expects to encounter in the ER is Ben, his lover from college—and the man who left him without a word of explanation.

Ben knows it won’t be easy to earn Evin’s trust and prove he’s not the same man Evin once knew, but he can’t bear to watch Evin struggle to care for Micah, hurting and alone. He wants back in Evin’s life, as a friend and hopefully more, but Evin’s heart is fragile, and the years have changed him too.



Earning His Trust









Earning His Trust by Alicia Nordwell
My rating: 2 of 5 stars


I'm not sure how to rate this book.
It was okay-ish, I think. But not memorable enough for me to make brag about the story to my friends. It was short but I felt forever to finished it. You the feeling?
I liked the second chance story, I liked the promised of a better relationship after failed the first time.
Yeah they were kids back then, but can't Ben talked to him before he leave and not just disappeared like a douchebag and then he wanted Evin back after so many years?Evin has every right to doubt Ben and say no. But instead, it was a little disappointing how much he trusted Ben with his baby.
And easily forgave him. Yeah. Not my scene.
I can give more star if only there's a satisfied ending, but no. It was a HFN, and ended abruptly. Just like that.
Not my favorite, apparently.


View all my reviews

I Heart Boston Terriers by Rick R. Reed

36099025 




2nd Edition

When Aaron finds Mavis, an emaciated and shy Boston terrier, at a pet adoption fair, his heart goes out to her—completely.

When Christian, manning the adoption fair for the Humane Society that autumn Saturday, finds Aaron, his heart goes out to him—completely.

This is a story about embracing love, whether it’s for someone who walks on four legs or on two. Mavis’s journey back to wholeness and finding her forever home parallels the story of two men discovering each other at the perfect moment—a moment that defies logic, propriety, and common sense. But when did love ever follow a rational course?
 






 I Heart Boston TerriersI Heart Boston Terriers by Rick R. Reed
My rating: 2 of 5 stars


There were so much things that didn't sit well with me in this story.
The sister, I think she's having split personality, you know, hot and cold, and annoying.
I only liked Mavis the dog. I can't like Christian and Aaron for some reasons, careless, too impulsive to have a 'relationship' right away after one meeting (failed hook-up).
As for the careless, really?(view spoiler)
And what was it about Aaron's mind that he wanted Christian to move in with him, on a first non-date, date? After a bad breakup, really?
And the story were just ended abruptly, after "Don't wait up!"
SMH.


*ARC provided by publisher.*


View all my reviews

ARC REVIEW : Family Man by Heidi Cullinan , Marie Sexton

35652800 


Sometimes family chooses you.

At forty, Vincent “Vinnie” Fierro is still afraid to admit he might be gay—even to himself. It’ll be a problem for his big, fat Italian family. Still, after three failed marriages, it’s getting harder to ignore what he really wants.

Vinnie attempts some self-exploration in Chicago’s Boystown bars, far from anyone who knows him. Naturally, he runs smack into someone from the neighborhood.

Between working two jobs, going to school, taking care of his grandmother, and dealing with his mother’s ongoing substance abuse, Trey Giles has little time for fun, let alone dating someone who swears he’s straight. Yet after one night of dancing cheek-to-cheek, Trey agrees to let Vinnie court him and see if he truly belongs on this side of the fence—though Trey intends to keep his virginity intact.

It seems like a solid plan, but nothing is simple when family is involved. When Vinnie’s family finds out about their relationship, the situation is sticky enough, but when Trey’s mother goes critical, Vinnie and Trey must decide whose happiness is most important—their families’ or their own.

Second Edition.
 Family Man










Family Man by Heidi Cullinan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


I had to adjust my head while reading this. This book has two types of POV, first person (Trey) and third person (Vinnie). I was kinda loss at first, but adjusted just fine after that. Still not the kind of POV I prefer.
The story is good, heartwarming with typical Italian family in the middle.
This is actually May - December relationship between Trey and Vinnie but I'm glad Vinnie and Trey didn't busy with the 'I'm too old for you and you're too young for me' kind of conversation.
They're just 'be'.
But Vinnie on the other hand, made me wanted to slap his head for his denial, a prolonged denial, until he talked to his Mother and something's happen in Trey's life and he had to make decision between family and Trey.
The ending is perfection and I'm so happy for Trey, yeah especially him.
Recommended!

View all my reviews

ARC REVIEW : Tea or Consequences by K.C. Burn

36119075 


Riley Parker: temp, twink, geek… sleuth?

Maybe Riley isn’t living up to his full potential, but being a temp executive assistant suits him. He’s never bored at work, he’s got friends who let him geek out, and he’s got a carefully crafted twink exterior… which might be getting constrictive now that he’s on the other side of thirty. Life isn’t perfect, but it’s comfortable.

It all unravels when he takes a job working for a tea-obsessed cosmetics queen, the owner of Gautier Cosmetics. During the launch party for a new product, Riley finds his boss dead under suspicious circumstances, and the homicide detective is none other than Tadeo Martin, Riley’s high school obsession who never knew he was alive.

Tad drafts Riley to get the scoop on the inner workings of Gautier, and for Riley, it’s like a drug. His natural inquisitiveness is rewarded with more and more Tad. Unfortunately, his snooping puts him in the running for two other roles: suspect and victim. The killer doesn’t care which.




Tea or Consequences










Tea or Consequences by K.C. Burn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


I liked the mystery side of this book, this alone made me stuck on my seat to read it. As for Riley and Tad's relationship, well, I was kinda wanted to shake Tad a whole time to put sense into him! But I think after he explained it to Riley, I understood his 'reason', but still.
Tad and Riley's relationship is a slow burn, not that I'm complain, but this kinda a bit of clean romance. I can't find a 'real' steam on page, there's sex of course, and kisses, lots of kisses.
Not the kind of romance I expected, but I can breath through the end, at least I know that Tad has passed his stupidity in relationship.
Enjoyable, especially for the mystery.


View all my reviews

Circle (Roads #3) by Garrett Leigh

35894093 


I love him...but he’s forgotten why.

A lot can happen in six years, and Ash and Pete have seen their world flipped upside down more times than most. Being parents to Pete's young nephew wasn't in their plan, but life happens to them and they roll with the punches. Or at least they did, until new heartache rocks their hard-won happily-ever-after.

Ash loves Pete as much as ever—more, in fact—but Pete battles alone with a burden that weighs heavily on his heart. Ash is no stranger to dark clouds, but the secret Pete keeps from him is a storm that could break them.

Despite the fierce love that once buoyed them, they're both drowning until a new friend throws them a lifeline. His wisdom offers insight—for better or worse, real love is rarely a smooth journey. For Ash and Pete to come full circle once more, they’ll have to hit the road and chase it.
Circle (Roads, #3)









Circle by Garrett Leigh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


***FIVE STARS and some more!***


Pete and Ash are just rooted in me, running in my blood, and they're my first love of Garrett Leigh characters and they're so damn perfect. Consuming me like no other.
Two imperfect soul, perfect for each other.
I don't even know how to show my love for Pete and Ash. I want to shield them, and put them in my pocket to just let them know they're loved.
This is the final book of the series, and the epilogue couldn't be more perfect for them!
I cried like a happy Mom for them! Thank you Garrett!
One of the best MM series I have ever read in this genre. Definitely a must read!
I strongly recommended this book for everyone, to know that 'unconditional love' is still exist.
We can learn from Pete and Ash, and Jed and Max!

READ THIS BOOK. NOW!


View all my reviews

Sunday, 27 August 2017

ARC REVIEW : Yanni's Story (Spencer Cohen #4) by N.R. Walker

35819608 

When Yanni Tomaras is kicked out of his family home, his parents’ final words are religious insults and an order to never return. Homeless and desperate, he’s lured in by Lance, charming on the outside, an evil predator underneath, who abuses him until he finds the courage to leave.

After years of being trapped, Yanni should feel free, but by the time Spencer Cohen finds him, he’s resigned to being handed back to Lance, and once again being caged by fear.

Starting school and a part-time job, Yanni starts to reclaim his life. But a love for silent films leads him to Peter Hannikov, a man twice his age with a kind heart, and an unlikely friendship between them blooms into so much more. Neither man knows what he wants, at first. Finding out exactly what he needs is Yanni’s story.

“I’d spent years as a bird, caged with my wings clipped, tormented and beaten.

I thought I’d escaped when I’d left my abuser, but in hindsight I could see that I was still caged, this time by fear and self-doubt.

Spencer and Andrew, and Andrew’s parents, opened the door to the cage that confined me.

But it was Peter who taught me how to fly.”



Yanni's Story (Spencer Cohen, #4)Yanni's Story by N.R. Walker
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


...this gentle, perfect man love me. He never once treated me like I was broken beyond repair...instead, he found beauty in fault lines, like the cracks in my life were what made me strong...

I didn't know that Yanni one day will have his own story. And with Peter, one of Spencer's client no less. From the moment they met after the party Spencer and Peter attended, there's spark between them. The story started from there. Good thing is I didn't have to 'experience' what Yanni had been through with is ex, Lance.

But on the other hand, I need some gripping background of how much Yanni been through what he had been through with that (view spoiler) of his.

This is a (very) slow burn because yeah...healing need process, and with a little Daddy kink on both side, so they're definitely made for each other. Though I'm not really sure that I liked about this Daddy issue, felt a little weird to me, maybe because Nic never wrote this one before. Sure she writes May December, remember Thomas Elkin? I loved that series. I didn't mind their age gap, I liked it even.

And as for the conflict, there's some small scenes with Tyler (Lance's other victim) and in court. Also with his house mates, they're all cool, including Ajit :)

It was enjoyable until 70 percent mark, if only there's something 'more' through the end.
Not my favorite of the series, because yeah blame on Spencer and Adrew thingy , but still enjoyable, especially when you need story that won't make your heart breaking into pieces. This one is light, more comfort healing story about our Yanny, with his little Daddy kink. Sugary sweet with all people around Yanni including the Landons...
As for the steam, you need to be more patient to wait until 'the time is right'. Wink.


*ARC provided in exchange for an honest review for Lelyana's Book Blog.*

View all my reviews

Tuesday, 15 August 2017

REVIEW : What's the Use of Wondering? (WMU #2) by Kate McMurray

35130414 


Violinist Logan has spent most of his life training for a career in music. But as the pressure mounts during his junior year, he questions whether playing in an orchestra is the future he wants, or one chosen by his parents. His new roommate—that annoying jerk Peter from last year’s production of _i>Guys and Dolls—complicates matters. Crammed into a dorm room with the overconfident but undeniably hot accounting major, Logan can’t stop snarling.

Then Peter sprains his ankle building sets, and Logan grudgingly agrees to play chauffeur. But instead of putting further strain on their relationship, spending time together reveals some common ground—and mutual frustration. Logan discovers he isn’t the only one who doesn’t know what he wants from life, and the animosity between him and Peter changes keys. But just as the possibility of a happier future appears, Logan gets a dream offer that will take him away from Western Massachusetts University—and Peter. Now he has to decide: will he live the solitary life laid out for him, or hold on to Peter and forge his own path?
 



 What's the Use of Wondering? (WMU, #2)






What's the Use of Wondering? by Kate McMurray
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


This was started slow, but after everything settled with Peter and Logan, things getting better and I enjoyed the story.
This is not a love at first sight, it's a slow burn and I liked how the chemistry between Logan and Peter developing.
In fact, the way Logan hated Peter for so long was kinda 'real' to me, and yeah, after some ' I want to slap Logan' moments so many times, finally Logan came into his senses.
I loved Peter, he's definitely a book boyfriend material, and Logan is definitely very lucky to have Peter.
We met again with Dave and Noel from the first book, and Noel and Dave a little bit opened Logan's eyes of what's his priority in his life, what path he must take.
I felt sorry for Logan about his 'dedication' to his violin, and pushy parents didn't help too. Good thing is, once he talked to his parents, everything's seemed easier for him.
I really loved the ending, it was a real promised of a HEA. Oh well, it's a HEA! Those guys!
Adorable!

* I received the ARC from Dreamspinner press in exchange of an honest and unbiased review*

View all my reviews